DEV Community

Cover image for Django Dev Journey #4
Jawdat Tayfour
Jawdat Tayfour

Posted on

Django Dev Journey #4

Well well well, it's me again!
If you never seen this profile picture before, then, let me introduce myself.
My name is Jawdat I'm an indie game developer, and, for the last several months I have been entering the web development realem.
It started out as a job hunt for me since web developers are the most demanded among all other developers. Thinking to myself "It can't be that hard to learn web development". Turned out that I'm correct about what I was thinking, it isn't that hard to learn web development. But, what I have underestimated is the depth of this field and the different kind of joy that you feel practcing it.
I started with "Django for Beginners: Build websites with Python and Django" by William S. Vincent a great book that teaches you about the main pillars of developing a web-app in django framework such as CRUD functionalities (Create,Read,Update,Delete) and many other fundemental concepts like deployment and class based views etc..
After learning every project in that book I took off on my own and tried creating toy projects like the ones you see popping of on the surface of the Internet. I then built a website that I posted about earlier on my profile, it's called "LoveLocks" which is somewhat of a social media platform desinged to serve the purpose of creating eternal memorial posts expressing love among indeivduals (you can read all about it on my page). I thought to myself that now I am fully capable to be the web developer I aspire to be with this knowledge inside my brain. I soon after that, learned, that I was no where close to what I have on my mind.
I got on the learning Journey again and headed to the next book of the sequel, "Django for Professionals: Production websites with Python & Django". The moment I started that book is the moment I stopped posting on my LinkedIn & Dev.to account about my projects I learned that the rabbit hole goes way deeper than I thought it is. And that I need to take it nice and easy and walk the path in baby steps. I learned about different types of security concerns, how to work with Docker (shallow knowledge ofc because the book isn't about Docker ) since all the companies and dev teams use it, how to handle static files and file upload in a decent way and many more topics while building the bookstore webapp that the book was teaching me how to build. And, now, I took the decision never to think of this learning road as a marathon that has a finish line but a boat trip on a long riverthat takes your breath each time younotice something new about the forest that the river crosses.
I started working on my portfolio website, learned a bit more CSS concepts beyond the the fundementals to make the website stand on its feet. And going with the flow hoping that by the time I find myself a Job as Junior Web Developer I'll have the experience of a Senior web developer

Thanks for reading a long, wish y'all a good week!
Image description
Image description
Image description

Top comments (0)