DEV Community

John Peters
John Peters

Posted on

Dev.to new edit format feedback and other suggestions

Was wondering what others thought about the new article edit layout?

Here's my thoughts...

  • Shouldn't all buttons be at bottom?
    [Edit] [Preview] [Save Draft] [Manage] [Publish] [Revert New Changes]
    Don't have to scroll, as the cursor is always at new line of edit.

  • Also, the new preview uses a white background, which makes the javascript harder to read. Wouldn't a dark gray background be better?

  • The Tagging input could be a checkbox dropdown with filtering as we type. This way we can see all tagging options.

  • Also if we hover over our name icon now we see a drop down of things to do, could we add a [View Drafts] option?

  • One other cool thing, when we go to dashboard and view our posts, if a search bar was in that screen, it would make it easier to search just our posts. No a big deal....

  • A direct way to message a member of Dev.To, just go to their icon, then a menu option "Send Message" allows us to communicate directly. Would be nice to have message history (as in RSS feeds when we text messages to phone numbers)

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
iainfreestone profile image
Iain Freestone

I have just completed my first post with the new editor and I had a few issues regarding images.

After uploading (which is now on the same page) I clicked the copy button after I assumed it was finished and pasted it into my post. When I went to preview the post at the end some images were duplicates or in the wrong order. I think I may had copied link to image before it had completed and copied the previous link? Not really sure.

There also use to be a quick link to Markdown options (adding YouTube, Tweets etc.) which I occasionaly found useful this seems to have gone.

Collapse
 
jwp profile image
John Peters

I just read all of your other posts Iain, you have a wonderful collection of tools, thanks for posting them.

Collapse
 
iainfreestone profile image
Iain Freestone

Thank you John