DEV Community

Cover image for Just launched my mental health app
Klaudia Romek
Klaudia Romek

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at klaudiabronowicka.com

Just launched my mental health app

Hi everyone, I wanted to share my latest project and talk about the reasons for making it.

One a Day is a gratitude and positivity platform for people struggling with their mental health. It offers a safe space where we can practice gratitude and celebrate our achievements, no matter how small.

When dealing with mental health issues, we encounter problems, which we think should be trivial to solve. We get frustrated thinking "Why am I like this!?" or we compare ourselves to others thinking "This should be easy, everyone can do it". Even when we manage to do something hard, we often don't give ourselves credit, but rather shoot ourselves down thinking "It wasn't that hard" or "I should have done this a long time ago".

These thoughts contributes to further feelings of shame, guilt and isolation. We don't appreciate ourselves for the good things. We feel unworthy of praise. We don't want to open up to people thinking they wouldn't understand, or worse, they'd scoff at us. We keep fuelling our depression, anxiety, eating disorders, you name it.

I've been there. To be honest, I still am. This is why I decided to build One a Day. To find others like me. To help them and to get help myself. To tackle those issues by building a community where we all support each other on our path to recovery by practicing gratitude and making that One small step a Day.

If you were so kind as to give my app a go, and let me know your thoughts, whether it’s around the idea, the technical aspects, usability, or anything else, I would be extremely grateful. Or if it's not for you, perhaps you know someone who would benefit from it. In that case, please pass it on.

I hope it can grow into something meaningful.

Thank you!

See on Play Store

See on App Store

See product page

Top comments (36)

Collapse
 
eelstork profile image
Tea

Looks carefully made (can't try it until I salvage one of my Android phones)! Have you heard of Lumi in Aus (the studio, not the game)? Their projects align well with your intentions.

A safe space is how I'd like to think of my phone, sadly all that's happened is I removed almost every app, and my biggest wish - aside SafeSpaceOS (tm) - is getting rid of the web browser, a to me mostly useless thing (on the phone! not web browsers in general) which delivers depressing and not-related-to-me news in the night-time when I cannot sleep.

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thanks for your comment! Good news is that I am hoping to release the iOS version within the next two weeks (depending on Apple's approval), so you don't need to rummage through your old phones :)

I haven't heard of Lumi, and wasn't able to find anything as it seems to be a very popular name for various studios. If you have the time, I would be grateful for a link, as they seem interesting.

I agree about the phone being a little box of misery these days. That's also why I thought making One a Day into a mobile app could help with that as it will hopefully be a little source of positive energy when we feel like scrolling through something.

Stay in touch, I'd love to see what you think of it once you can actually use it!

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Hi again, just wanted to let you know that the iOS version was approved yesterday so if you're still interested, it would mean the world to me to hear your feedback :)

Link: apps.apple.com/app/one-a-day-grati...

Collapse
 
eelstork profile image
Tea

Oh yes I totally just got it thank you! I will try to give you my feedback in a few days!

Collapse
 
hunghvu profile image
Hung Vu

Great job. It is always great when there are people spreading mental health awareness.

Based on your app description, I'm not sure about the implication but as you are targeting the mental health segment, be aware of regional regulation on this matter. In the US, they are HIPAA, HITECH, and some more things. They can get complex real fast (talking from experience).

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thanks for the tip! I'll definitely keep it in mind when adding more features :)

Collapse
 
khromov profile image
Stanislav Khromov

Really nice work Klaudia! Beautiful app. Working on something in a similar space so this was very inspirational! ☀️

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thank you! That's wonderful, looking forward to seeing what you create :)

Collapse
 
khromov profile image
Stanislav Khromov

Finally launched it! Would love your feedback. ☀️

dev.to/khromov/how-i-published-a-g...

Collapse
 
mickmelon profile image
MickMelon

Great job in developing this and getting it launched! It looks very clean and intuitive, and built for a great purpose - to make a positive impact on people's lives.

We get frustrated thinking "Why am I like this!?" or we compare ourselves to others thinking "This should be easy, everyone can do it".

A mindset that helped me when I switched careers to tech was, "if other people can do this, then why can't I?"

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thank you! And that's a great mindset to have :)

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

The idea is amazing and the app looks great too!

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thank you very much 🙏

Collapse
 
declanmidd profile image
Declan Middleton

Keep up the good work!

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thank you!

Collapse
 
hussam22 profile image
Hussam-22

Congratulations and great job, I really like how nice and clean your design is

Im working on a personal project as well, waiting for the day to publish it for the world to see it just like you.😀

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thank you! I'll pass this onto the designer, she'll surely appreciate it :)

All the best with your project! Keep going!

Collapse
 
saravanasai profile image
Saravana Sai

Really a good idea . Keep going share the git repo where other developer can also participate on development process

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thanks! And thanks for using it :)

Keeping it private for now until I decide which direction to take it

Collapse
 
thebernardlim profile image
thebernardlim

Such a clean and nice looking app. Loved the idea too. Good job!

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thank you! I'll pass it onto the designer :D

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Fantastic work Klaudia!!!

I really like your focus on blending technology and psychology/mental health - keep it up, I can't wait to see where your work takes you :D

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thank you! It feels good to use my skills for something that matters to me and can also help others ☺️

Collapse
 
acidop profile image
Zeeshan 🎖

Amazing Job

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thanks Zeeshan!

Collapse
 
brayne profile image
Brayne Digital

Great App. Thanks for your awesome work.

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thanks! Glad you like it :)

Collapse
 
akans22 profile image
EZEJI UDOKA AKANS

This is nice. congratulations.

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thanks :)

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

Thank you!

Collapse
 
rishabchaturved profile image
Rishab Chaturvedi

I just installed and first impression is amazing. Cheers !!

Collapse
 
k_romek profile image
Klaudia Romek

That's great, thank you!