DEV Community

Kay Kleinvogel
Kay Kleinvogel

Posted on

What does your markdown workflow look like?

I was wondering what your markdown workflow looks like?

  • What tools are you using?
  • What do you like about your workflow?
  • What do you not like about it?

My workflow

For me I recently had to write a paper in markdown. For this my tools were:

  • Editor: Atom, (Plugins: markdown preview, markdown writer)
  • LaTeX: texmaker
  • collaboration / notes: google docs

What I like about it:

Atom is one of my favorite text editors, so I am really happy to keep using it. With the markdown preview plugin I can see the changes I make in real time.

What I do not like about it:

In order to collaborate with other people I currently use google docs for live editing. If I want to get the text there, I am pasting it from my markdown document. After finishing the live editing I will then copy it from the docs and paste it into my markdown document again.

Other aspects:

I see why I have to convert everything into .tex in order to see if the formatting and everything is working. An automated solution would probably be better but I haven't looked at it yet.

Top comments (0)