DEV Community

kcarrel
kcarrel

Posted on

Job Search Resources and Tips

As a former bootcamp graduate I have been attempting to cast a wide net in my job search. In doing so I have compiled a list of resources and tips that I have been utilizing which I hope is helpful for others in a similar position.

Job Boards/Networks

Skills-Based Recruiting

Interview Prep

Tips

  • Make a portfolio!
  • Write clear ReadMe's for projects you want to highlight ReadMe example for DatePlanet
  • Host your projects for recruiters/hiring managers to view easily! I love using Heroku personally.
  • Write a technical blog
  • Utilize the Tech Twitter network
  • Join/attend local Tech Meetup groups and their slack channels
  • Continue to code whether that is in the form of interview prep, personal projects or learning new skills
  • Remember to take breaks. Finding a job is a full time job in itself but even then TAKE BREAKS!
  • Ask developers you know if they would be willing to do a mock interview or informational interview
  • Use your network! Often times you will find people happy to help in any way they can.

Do you have any tips or resources you would like to share?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
ohkpond profile image
Kate Pond

Thanks for listing these resources out and providing tips! I haven't taken a look, but did you use Jenkins or Gatsby for your portfolio?

Also, have you heard of employHer, {key : values}, Wayup, and the junior friendly remote positions that I curated by @2alin on Twitter?

I also haven't used this, but it looks interesting: Resunate.

And this is a super cool resource: [Diversify Tech]9diversifytech.co/).

And I like this article: 10 Job Search Tricks That Will Change Everything You've Been Doing

I have Toby that helps save all the resources that seem interesting.

Collapse
 
kissu profile image
Konstantin BIFERT

Thanks for all those resources ! ❤️
And she is using Ruby on Rails for her portfolio. 👌🏻

Collapse
 
kcarrel profile image
kcarrel

Thank you for answering a question I completely glossed over! Time to go drink more coffee.

Collapse
 
kcarrel profile image
kcarrel

Thank you for the awesome suggestions Kate!

Collapse
 
ohkpond profile image
Kate Pond

You're welcome! I hope they help too! 😊

Collapse
 
aortizoj15 profile image
Alexis Ortiz Ojeda

Great article! Currently in the job search process as well so I will definitely be taking a look at all those links! Thank you!

Collapse
 
isalevine profile image
Isa Levine

Ooo this is good stuff--time to spend my Sunday doing some fix-ups! ;)

Collapse
 
bwb profile image
Ben Fox

I'd also suggest adding this to the list: keyvalues.com/, as there is a search for companies that hire junior devs too and have specific mentoring programs.