DEV Community

KeeyboardKeda
KeeyboardKeda

Posted on

Swiftly learning Swift

This week I am looking into the swift language which is used for iOS apps. So far I think it's so cool and an easy language to grasp. What I know so far about coding definitely plays a part in how quickly I am picking this up.

A few things that stood out:

  1. the string interpolation - this is used to input a variable into a string using (backslash ()(variable))
    Example, I am (age) years old.

  2. in swift constants are declared using the let keyword

What is cool to me:

  1. else/if statements

  2. ternary conditional operator (this finally makes sense to me. I've seen it in example codes but never knew its use.)

  3. Switch statements

    • interval matching
    • compound cases

Until next time !

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
vikhyatcr profile image
vikhyatcr

hey Keda, I've also been working in swift and creating my first ever iOS app, we can think of collaborating in some project for future ?