DEV Community

Ken
Ken

Posted on

Pursuing a Master's in Computer Science Without a CS Background: My Journey to the University of York

I've just been accepted into the University of York's online MSc course in Computer Science. During my application process, I found many articles and blogs about postgraduate options helpful. However, there was scant information about the University of York, which made my decision-making process challenging. As I considered several schools, I want to share my experiences and the reasons behind my choice of York. I hope this article will assist you in making an informed decision, just as the other blogs helped me.

My Background

I've been working as a software engineer while completing my undergraduate degree in law. Despite successfully managing in my role without a formal computer science background, I decided to pursue a master's degree to solidify my knowledge base and align with my peers professionally.

Criteria

Given my background, I had a specific set of criteria for selecting a university. It’s no secret that not many schools are open to candidates without a traditional computer science background. If you’re looking to break into the field like I am, you might relate to the challenges I faced. Here’s what I looked for in a program:

  • No requirement for a CS bachelor’s degree
  • Availability of an online course (or a campus located in Japan)
  • Reasonable tuition fees
  • Ability to start studying as soon as possible
  • Offers research opportunities (no specific topic in mind, but I was eager to explore this aspect of academia)

These criteria guided my search and ultimately influenced my decision on where to apply.

School I chose

I chose the University of York for my online MSc course. While it may not be as widely recognized internationally as some other institutions in computer science, the University of York offers an excellent program for students without a traditional CS background. They provide online courses at a reasonable tuition fee of £9,000. The university requires a grade higher than 2:2, which is equivalent to a GPA between 2.8 and 4.0. Although my GPA was on the lower side, it still met their requirements. As a non-native English speaker, I had to submit my TOEFL score.

A significant advantage of York's program is the minimal documentation required for admissionーjust my alma mater's transcript and certification to prove my English proficiency. This streamlined the application process, eliminating the need for personal statements or letters of recommendation from my employer. Moreover, the start date was ideal; I applied in May, and the class begins on June 24th, allowing me to quickly focus on my studies.

Although it may not carry the same immediate name recognition in specific circles as other schools, the University of York is a member of the Russell Group, which comprises 24 leading UK universities. Given my specific needs and circumstances, it was the most suitable choice.

Other options I considered

  • Georgia Tech
    Georgia Tech also offers online courses known as OMSCS. While a CS-related degree is preferable, it's not mandatory. Applicants need a 3.0 or higher GPA and a TOEFL score above 100 (IELTS is also acceptable). Three references are required, one from someone with an academic background. The course costs only $7,000. Georgia Tech is highly prestigious in the US. Although a CS degree is typically required, I've seen some students admitted without one, so it is worth a shot even if you don't have one.
    However, I chose not to pursue this due to the lengthy preparation time, which didn't align with my goal to start studying as soon as possible.

  • University of Pennsylvania
    Penn offers the online Master of Computer and Information Technology(MCIT) degree. This program doesn't require a CS degree at all. Applicants should have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and a TOEFL score of 100 or more (IELTS is not accepted). It requires at least two letters of recommendation, multiple personal statements, and a resume. Penn is a member of the Ivy League, which is impressive until you see the tuition feesーthey're also Ivy League, but my bank account isn't. It costs more than $26,000. Plus, they don't exactly offer a computer science degree; it's more of a computer and information technology degree.

  • Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
    Technically, they don't offer an online course, but they have attractive part-time graduate programs. Although it was one of the best options, the courses are primarily conducted in Japanese, and I was keen on improving my English. FYI, if you choose this school, you really need to devote yourself to research.

  • University of the People
    This is actually an undergraduate institution, offering tuition-free education, which could have been an appealing option. However, since it's an undergraduate program, it would require committing four years or more, a longer duration than I was willing to invest.

  • University of London
    Similar to the University of the People, the University of London would have required spending three years, which was not feasible for my plans.

Finally...

I have chosen the University of York for my MSc in Computer Science and am eager to see how it unfolds. I will provide updates after completing the first module. I can't wait to start the course!

Top comments (0)