DEV Community

Kenichiro Nakamura
Kenichiro Nakamura

Posted on

Don't waste time to write README, use readme-ai instead

As a developer, most of us (or maybe just me?) are having fun writing code, but struggling to write README.md.

But README.md is obviously one of the most important artifacts of the repository and we cannot avoid it. So what shall we do? The answer is, AI.

readme-ai

One of my colleagues let me know about "readme-ai" today which was super easy to use.

readme-ai: GitHub

They provide local several ways to run the service.

  • Locally run from the source code
  • Use pip module
  • Use docker container
  • Use the hosted web application

I found the hosted one was the easiest to use.

Streamlit app

https://readmeai.streamlit.app/

There are only two steps.

  1. Enter your Open AI API key.
  2. Enter your GitHub repository URL.

That's it!

One caveat is that you may need to use the paid version of API as you may encounter API threshold.

Summary

I believe there maybe other solutions to write README.md on our behalf, so please let me know if you know some!

Top comments (0)