DEV Community

Kern Designs
Kern Designs

Posted on

Hello World

Hey all! I'm Hannah, a Sophomore at Penn State University, excited to explore where tech can lead me. I am studying Human Centered Design and Development (HCDD), which is a complicated way of saying I want to pursue a career in UX Design. When I was deciding what I wanted to do with my life two passions stood out to me. The first was people. I want to make a positive difference in the world. I also was passionate about technology and coding. These passions lead me to where I am today. That is, aspiring to make technology easily accessible and seeking to design useful products to assist in daily activities.

The 2019 Grace Hopper Conference was the first time I knew I was where I needed to be. I was a freshman girl staring up at presenters who had once been where I was--just starting out, confused, and scared. The incredible thing about that was, they took those feelings with their passion and did amazing things. I listened to them speak on inclusive design and thought to myself “That's what I want to do. I want to change the world”. And that’s exactly what I plan to do.

I have had the incredible opportunity to grow with the College of IST as they begin their HCDD journey. That doesn’t come without its challenges, but it also means that I get to be a part of the start of something incredible. In the fall of 2019, HCDD premiered at Penn State and I was there for it. After talking to a few classmates we decided we wanted to create a consulting organization for students in our field. And that’s exactly what we did. We reached out to the User Experience Professionals Association (UXPA) about making a Penn State Chapter, found an advisor, and gained support from the College of IST. I am proud to say Penn State has an active UXPA Chapter. We have completed lots of projects and by doing so gave students, including myself, great experiences.

Through UXPA, I am currently managing a project with JamPacks, a start-up that sells handsewn, non-binary, playful backpacks. Located in Whitefish MT, they are dedicated to their customers and the pursuit of connecting to the wilderness. This has been a great opportunity for me to work on a team outside of the classroom. I have learned new tools and gained more exposure to ones I have used in the past.

One of my favorite tools to use when wireframing and prototyping is Figma. That’s why I created a short tutorial to teach you all how and when to use it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yQeGc8gMceI&feature=youtu.be

I look forward to growing with you and cannot wait to see where we end up.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
mosaeid profile image
Mohammed Saeid

I'm backend developer with NodeJS (and I'm suck with design and frontend) and accidentally found your 5 min tutorial in Youtube, then checked out your channel, really helpful.
I wish you luck and success with your journey

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Hello !