DEV Community

Cover image for Outreachy: Introducing myself
Khushi 🌼
Khushi 🌼

Posted on • Updated on

Outreachy: Introducing myself

Hello everyone!
I am Khushi, doing my undergrad in computer science at IIIT Guwahati. I have been into web development for the initial 2 years of my college life but recently shifted to UI/UX and product design 🎨.

I have been recently selected as an Outreachy intern for the May-Aug'22 cohort πŸŽ‰. I'll be working with ODK-X on the project β€œUser interface uplift for mobile apps” with my mentors Ben Green and Caroline Krafft.

My Core values:
Courage and Communication

I remember when I applied for Outreachy last year, even my initial application did not get shortlisted which somewhere made me believe Outreachy was a very big (unachievable) goal for me. Eventually, I got over that fear and self-doubt and decided to apply again this year with double the amount of hard work and confidence, which surely worked in my favor πŸ˜πŸŽ‰. Similarly, we often tend to self-reject or underestimate ourselves, when we really just need to be a little courageous and show up!

'Communication is the key': Truer words have never been spoken. I feel that good and clear communication can solve anything and even bring you great opportunities. Clearly asking my doubts and communicating with the mentors for help definitely helped me draft a good proposal for Outreachy and helped my mentors to get to know me better as well πŸ˜….

My motivation to apply to Outreachy:
I already knew about open-source and Outreachy but did not expect to find any design-related projects here. That changed when I found a fellow product designer on LinkedIn who had interned with Outreachy in the past. Talking to her opened a whole new door for me and made me apply to Outreachy, mainly focusing on design projects πŸ˜ŒπŸ™Œ.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

welcome!