DEV Community

Cover image for Outreachy: Wrap-up
Khushi 🌼
Khushi 🌼

Posted on

Outreachy: Wrap-up

Welcome to the final blog of the Outreachy series!
This one is based on my overall experience with Outreachy!

One fear I had

So initially, seeing previous year statistics, I was quite worried that since selection ratio is so small, I might not get selected, even after giving my best and investing ~2 months during the entire process.
But nevertheless, I got started and gave my best in every step of process, and eventually got selected 🎉

One amazing thing that happened

The best part of this internship was that I got to work on a real-life project, actual apps that are being used by actual people; this was a big deal for me since I had only done personal projects before Outreachy and had no industry experience 😬

Mentors' support

The mentors were extremely supportive and sweet, clarified all my doubts and helped me with resources, tips and motivation, whenever I felt I was lacking the will to do a certain task.

Skills I developed

I got to polish and implement my UI/UX skills on the ODK-X apps, and even got into Android Studio, trying to implement my design changes/suggestions.
I learned how to manage async communication with my mentors, and how to communicate my difficulties and struggles. 💪

Next steps

I proposed some design changes in the apps, defined some styles, and further built the design guide.
In future, the styles and other changes can be implemented, and the developers would be able to use the design guide to make consistent app UIs.

That was all, folks! I had an amazing time being a part of this awesome community. Highly recommend applying for Outreachy if you get a chance. 🙌

Top comments (0)