DEV Community

Karolis
Karolis

Posted on

Privacy Tools – Encryption Against Global Mass Surveillance

I value my privacy and try to stay away from certain operating systems, browsers and some social networks, it's the first time I have come across such a comprehensive list of tools that focus on privacy:

https://www.privacytools.io/

I hope you find this useful :) What browsers, extensions and VPN providers do you use?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jimmylipham profile image
Jimmy Lipham

I use Brave and my own VPN. Things seem to work really really well as far as the user experience and overall security are concerned.

Since you speak of privacy, Bryan Lunduke recapped a very important comparison between iOS and Android and which spies on you more: youtube.com/watch?v=8n6ubzCzZ5I

Very shocking at first sight and I think it highlights some pretty big issues in the space!

Collapse
 
krusenas profile image
Karolis

Really good video. I think for any Android users (but probably if you are using a Google account you should do it even if you don't have an Android) one of the most important things to do are disable activity tracking here myactivity.google.com/myactivity. I remember there were more places where you would have to go and "opt out" of tracking.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

In my quest to un-google as much as possible I went full iOS (from Android), Firefox (from Chrome) (with Containers and UBlock) and DuckDuckGo since end of 2018. I also switched my main Mail to Fastmail with my own domain.

Collapse
 
kspeakman profile image
Kasey Speakman

Thanks for linking this!!!