DEV Community

Cover image for Write docz in 5 steps.
Kavindu Santhusa
Kavindu Santhusa

Posted on

Write docz in 5 steps.

When I wanted to write some documentation. Earlier I had used Jekyll with Github pages. Then I had to create all the stuff by hand. Now I am going to introduce Docz in 5 steps...

It's never been easier to document your things!

Built-in components

  • Powered by Gatsby
  • Zero config
  • Easy to customize
  • Based on MDX
  • Fully pluggable
  • TypeScript support

Run following commands to setup it

1. Create

npm init # Use `-y` to quick run
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

2. Installation

yarn add docz react react-dom
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

or

npm install docz react react-dom
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

3. Start dev build

yarn docz dev
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

or

npx docz dev
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

4. Write

write this file to

--------
name: Hello world
route: /
--------

# Hello world

Hello, I'm a mdx file!
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

5. Enjoy

open https://localhost:3001 or what else printed in console.
Example

Visit https://www.docz.site/ for more
Follow me for more articles.

Thanks 💖💖💖
support me

Top comments (0)