DEV Community

Cover image for How I completed my HacktoberFest 21 Journey
Kunal Kumar
Kunal Kumar

Posted on

How I completed my HacktoberFest 21 Journey

Thank You for taking time to read about my Journey. I know you are looking to get some inspiration from my journey if you are here.

What is Hacktoberfest ?

Before starting, Lets talk about the hacktoberfest. Hacktoberfest is a month-long celebration of open source software run by DigitalOcean (in partnership with its partners like dev) . Hacktoberfest is open to everyone in our global community!

Once you have completed the Hacktoberfest, you will have the option to choose either a Hacktoberfest shirt, OR the option to donate a tree.

What is the Procedure ? šŸ¤”

If you are interested in taking part in the Hacktoberfest. You will have to make 4 Pull Requests in-between 1-30 October and get it merged in order to earn a chance to win a t-shirt or plant a tree. This is it.

Now I will share my journey with you step by step. How I did it.

journey

My Journey šŸ”„

I was waiting eagerly for the Hacktoberfest to begin. So, that I can take part and get to know about Open Source more. Now, The time comes and on October 1.

  1. Firstly, I go to the https://hacktoberfest.digitalocean.com/ and selected Sign Up with Github .
  2. Now, what I have to do is make 4 Pull requests and in-order to do it. I went to the https://github.com/issues and search for the issues with label "is:open is:issue label:hacktoberfest"
  3. Now, the Issues I fixed and got successful Merge requests are these :

    docs: updated content #7

    As my first contribution to Hactoberfest. I am sending this pull request to close issue #5 .

    feat: added dark Theme #8

    Count it as my contribution to hacktoberfest šŸ˜‡ #6

    feat: added sliding window #16

    This PR will close #13

    Added Contains Duplicate

    • Given an integer array nums and an integer k, return true if there are two distinct indices i and j in the array such that nums[i] == nums[j] and abs(i - j) <= k.

    Constraints:

    • 1 <= nums.length <= 105
    • -109 <= nums[i] <= 109
    • 0 <= k <= 105

    refactor: readme file #24

    This pull request will resolve #14

    • Here I have included a table of contents and contributing and if you need you can include a resources tab as well in the future.
    • Please review and don't forget when you accepted the PR, it must have the label hacktoberfest-accepted to count for the participants. šŸ˜‡

    feat: added reducer in cart and order page #21

    This PR resolves #3

    • I have added a global state and reducer in the App.
    • Please review and let me know about the changes if needed.
    • Also, don't forget all PR needs Hacktober-accepted label for participants to count.šŸ˜Š
  4. Whenever I submitted a Merge Request, it takes a 14 day Period for the Maintainer to make sure it is not a Spam. So, remember to wait for the 14 day Period and be relaxed. šŸ˜Œ
  5. Now, I am waiting for my t-shirt to come and once my t-shirt will arrive I will post it.

Feel free to ask anything if you have any doubts and thanks for reading šŸ˜‡.

Top comments (0)