DEV Community

Kyle Shevlin
Kyle Shevlin

Posted on • Updated on

What are the best things you do outside of work to advance your career? OSS? Side projects? Networking? Other?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
kylessg profile image
Kyle Johnson • Edited

Making things I release to the public. In one particular case I automated releasing 250 apps in a particular industry with a unified data source and got over 100k downloads from 2 weekends worth of development.

For me at least, side projects have been a huge part of reinvigorating my motivation and ultimately help me become better at what I do and avoid stagnating.

Collapse
 
jchiatt profile image
J.C. Hiatt
  1. Podcasts (I particularly like listening to DevChat.tv shows)
  2. Reading articles / e-books
  3. Following tutorials online
  4. Teaching others through articles, talks, or screencasts
  5. Attending my local developer meetup
Collapse
 
afshinity profile image
Afshing

Attending random talks about the topics that I am working with or like to working with.
Online courses in science.

Collapse
 
courier10pt profile image
Bob van Hoove

Whatever you enjoy doing that makes you learn new things or get to know new people.