DEV Community

Cover image for My 2022 goals as a Web Developer
Ludivine A
Ludivine A

Posted on

My 2022 goals as a Web Developer

Now that 2021 is over, it is time to set new goals. I know I'm a bit late to the party, since it's already February 1, but I needed some time to ponder my goals a bit longer. So here they are!

Work

Learn Vue.js

Even though I am not an expert in ReactJS yet, I feel the need to learn a new technology.

ReactJS being a library, I want to add a Framework to my CV, and as VueJS is easy to learn and has a lot of potential, this is what I decided to learn.

Learn more theory about basics : HTML / CSS / JS and NodeJs

I agree wholeheartedly with the principle of "practice makes perfect", but I think at some point you have to learn a little theory. Knowing why things work a certain way is a powerful debugging tool!

I watch Anthony Alicea's courses on Udemy. He is the author of JavaScript: Understanding the Weird Parts and Learn and Understand NodeJS. I highly recommend his courses, and I will gladly take his next course on CSS and HTML!

Learn more about DevOps

 I'm very curious to know how the process of creating a website works, from designs to deployment and maintenance of an application.

I find DevOps work very interesting and I want to learn more about it!

Let go of the imposter syndrome !

This one is going to be very difficult! Being still a young developer, I tend to underestimate my knowledge and abilities.

And being self-aware is not enough, the real goal in the end is to be able to assert your arguments and not let anyone tell you otherwise.

Daily life

Wake up earlier in the morning 😄

I'm the worst at waking up in the morning. I have a lot to do, and I know that getting up early would make me much more productive.

I need to get to bed earlier, and to do that I need to stop scrolling through instagram in bed … Shame on me I know.

Read more books !

My library is FULL of good books, I have The Lord of the Rings to read, the Witcher saga, tons of books on my Amazon wishlist and a Kindle waiting for me.

I find it very hard to stay consistent and read and I want to change that.

Learn Piano

I always wanted to play the piano and never committed to it, or even asked my parents. As a child, I didn't really know WHY I wanted to learn the piano. Now that I'm a bit older, I feel like I'm missing out, that I can't play an instrument.

I already ride horses, but I plan to do a little more exercise, whether it's cardio or maybe Pilates.

Create a Youtube channel for tutorials ?

I don't know if I'll actually do it this year, I'm still experimenting with social media. I love sharing knowledge in the IT world through my blog and Instagram (even though I'm still a novice there).

I'd like to try and make little YouTube tutorials on various technologies. Maybe build some apps while filming 🤷. This goal is more of a "really think about it this year", weighing the pros and cons.

Grow my audience on Instagram (Go check out la.dev 😉)

Growing on Instagram is not that easy! Creating reels and posts takes time and I need to get better at it.

I feel like I'm trying to be a little too "perfect" and I waste time re-doing videos a hundred times. I need to have more fun and just focus on sharing!

Conclusion

Writing about my goals was really interesting, and I encourage you to do the same. Thinking about the year ahead will give you energy, and publishing your goals will add a little "pressure" like "I told people I was going to do these things, I better do them now!".

Being motivated is usually not enough. Having someone who can (kindly and sympathetically) scold you if you stop trying is a good way to keep you focused and on track.

So, what about you ? What are your goals for 2022 ? Tell me everything !


Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
raphael_jambalos profile image
Raphael Jambalos

I'm glad one of your goals is to learn VueJS. Personally, I find VueJS code structure to be cleaner than that of ReactJS. For books, I have a dev.to article recommending books for managing devs if you are in to that stuff.

My goal for 2022: Learn kubernetes and Japanese~!

Collapse
 
lachouri profile image
Ludivine A

Thank you very much, I will read that article later for sure !

I didn't add it to the list, but learning a new language is also one of my goals ! It will be Italian this year, and maybe Mandarin next !

Collapse
 
pblgllgs profile image
pbl.gllgs

devops, aws, and some new js framework

Collapse
 
lachouri profile image
Ludivine A

Awesome ! These are great goals !