DEV Community

Cover image for I graduated, now what? Camila Coded in 2022
Camila Lenis
Camila Lenis

Posted on

I graduated, now what? Camila Coded in 2022

Hello world, I'm Camila Lenis, a software developer from Colombia 😁 and just as you I have a story to tell...

How this began?

I can't even remember when I felt in love with tech world. I was so young. Then, I started in collage when I was 17, with many insecurities and many dreams.

I can't deny that beign the only woman in the room was so intimidated. But instead of telling you about all the times I felt lost, I'll tell you about the times I felt I had a place in this world.

My biggest technical achievements are…

I had the opportunity to work in a start up since I was in collage. That lead me to meet the most amazing and talented people I've ever met. But it also taught me that to have a place in the world I had to raise my voice.

This is a memory of one of my first webinars in Colombia for the anniversary of a community called CaliSharp. Being the only woman in the middle of so many people with so much experience and feeling that I also had something valuable to say taught me that just as I can learn from them, they can learn from me.

Calisharp anniversary webinar

My biggest technical goals are…

A few days ago I graduated from college. Now I want to learn as much as I can in an early stage start up and improve my backend development skills.

Camila Lenis's graduation

I pledge to break the bias in tech by…

Content creation.

One thing that helped me to feel that there were more women like me in the world was social networks. I met a lot of communities of women who were not only technically good, but were moms, athletes, artists and whatever they wanted to be.

I share my journey in the tech world so that more women can see that they can do both and more! You can find me here

Throughout my career, I have overcome…

  • Sexist comments
  • Discrimination
  • Depression
  • Mansplaining

And the list could continue.

Advocating for myself looks like

Self love is not hot baths and masks. It's getting up every day and doing what you know is best for you to become the person you want to be.

I pledge to support women, non-binary folks, and other minorities in tech by…

Using my voice to tell you that you're not alone. And of course to clap them in their success 👏🏼

I’m excited about

The challenges that I hava this year in my new job in a Brazilian start up.

And I'm excited to hear about you! If you ever been told that you don't belog here, let me tell you that you deserve a seat in the tech table. Period.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
colocodes profile image
Damian Demasi

What’s Mansplaining? I’m which ways do you see coworkers treating you differently because you are a woman?

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited
Collapse
 
ladivaloper profile image
Camila Lenis

Thanks for sharing