DEV Community

Larson Carter
Larson Carter

Posted on

Reddit Client - for iOS and Android Applications - now open!

BEFORE YOU READ THIS: THIS IS FROM MY REDDIT POST, LINK IS AT THE END OF POST, I'M STARTING THIS NEW PROJECT AND I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO CLUE WHERE TO RECRUIT OR GET THE WORD OUT SO HERE YOU GO!

Hello all.

I have had this idea running through my head for the past few months now. Since it is a new year I'm deciding to take action on it.

Basically I am going to create a Reddit client for iOS and Android. At this moment I have not decided exactly what technologies that we are going to be using however it will most likely be flutter.

Also right now we will only focus on a mobile app in the future if the mobile app goes well we can potentially progress onto a web app, but who knows.

As the title says applications are now open. All you have to do to apply is simply direct message me rather that be reddit inbox or reddit chat.

I am looking to have at least 10-14 really qualified developers to start off with. Then grow the team as we gain more traffic on the app.

PLEASE NOTE THERE WILL BE NO COMPENSATION TOWARDS THIS APP, FOR RIGHT NOW I'M JUST MAKING THIS TO MAKE EVERYONE LEARN AND HAVE A GOOD TIME.

Here are a small list of a few of the requirements:

[] Decent amount Java Knowledge

[] Will to learn and share what I already know with others

[] Basic Swift Knowledge - Not required but willing to look into basic

[] Has a decent knowledge on GitHub/GitLab

[] Familiar with working on projects with other people

[] Understand that you will not be paid!

[] Will be contacted on Discord - At least somewhat familiar with Discord.

Once you have contacted me I will get your discord and then I will direct message you after which we will do a very very simple interview just to make sure you somewhat understand what you are doing.

If I decide that you will be a good fit for the team I will invite you to our discord server in which we will get the project started.

I plan to have this project under way via planning, graphic design, basic pseudocode, staging, team member selection all done by January 15th.

Then I plan to have Development of the app started February 1st.

I need someone that specializes in these things here (These are going to change since I don't know what technologies we are going to use right now):

  • Front End Design (3x)

  • Back End Design (3x)

  • Full Stack Dev (2x)

  • PR Group (X??) This will be for writing documentation and working with developers and staging releases

  • iOS Tester (1x)

  • Android Tester (1x)

You can always be multiple roles just decide what you want to be after the interview

Thanks All;

  • Larson Carter (GitHub: larson-carter)

Here is the link to the reddit post just so you can see comments and some of my answers:

https://www.reddit.com/r/ProgrammingPals/comments/ekyzxs/reddit_for_ios_and_android_applications_now_open/

Top comments (0)