DEV Community

Cover image for My Experience of Hacktoberfest 2023 : A Journey of Open Source Contribution
Lasantha Sanjeewa Silva
Lasantha Sanjeewa Silva

Posted on

My Experience of Hacktoberfest 2023 : A Journey of Open Source Contribution

Hacktoberfest 2023, an annual event celebrating open source software and its community, was an incredible experience. This month-long celebration of open source, organized by DigitalOcean and GitHub, provided a fantastic opportunity for me to dive into the world of open source and contribute to meaningful projects. In this article, I'd like to share my personal journey during Hacktoberfest 2023 and the valuable lessons I learned along the way.

My journey began with registering for Hacktoberfest on the official website and browsing through the list of available projects to contribute to. I was amazed at the diversity of projects, from web development to machine learning and documentation. The process of choosing my first project was a bit daunting, but I decided to pick something that aligned with my interests and skills.

Progress-Hack

Choosing the Right Project

Selecting the right project is crucial, and it's important to find one that resonates with your interests and level of expertise. I found a project related to web development that piqued my interest and had a welcoming community of developers. This made the choice easier, and I joined their Discord server to introduce myself and get to know the community better.

My First Pull Request

One of the key objectives of Hacktoberfest is to encourage open source contributions, and to achieve this, participants need to submit a minimum of four pull requests during the month. My first pull request was quite simple, as I wanted to get the hang of the contribution process. It involved fixing a minor bug in the project's documentation. The sense of accomplishment after making my first contribution was truly satisfying.

Collaboration and Learning

Hacktoberfest is not just about making contributions; it's also about learning from the open source community. As I continued to make contributions, I collaborated with experienced developers who provided constructive feedback on my code. This was an excellent learning experience and an opportunity to improve my coding skills.

Dealing with Challenges

Contributing to open source projects isn't always smooth sailing. I encountered challenges along the way, such as understanding the project's codebase and resolving merge conflicts. However, the open source community is incredibly supportive. The project maintainers and fellow contributors were always ready to help and guide me through these challenges.

Building a Portfolio

Hacktoberfest 2023 allowed me to build a portfolio of contributions on GitHub. This is not only a great addition to my resume but also a way to showcase my skills to potential employers. It demonstrates my commitment to the open source community and my ability to work collaboratively with other developers.

2023 Hall of Fame

Hacktoberfest 2023 was an unforgettable journey into the world of open source. It not only allowed me to make meaningful contributions to projects I'm passionate about but also introduced me to a wonderful community of like-minded individuals. I encourage anyone interested in open source to participate in future Hacktoberfest events, as it's a fantastic way to learn, grow, and give back to the global open-source community. My experience in 2023 was a valuable one, and I look forward to future Hacktoberfest events with excitement and enthusiasm.

Swags

Tree-Plantig

Thanks for reading the Article.

Connect with me

Website - https://devopswithlasantha.tech
LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/lasanthasilva
Twitter - https://twitter.com/LasanthaSilva96
Medium - https://medium.com/@lasanthasilva
Github - https://github.com/sanju2

Top comments (0)