DEV Community

Lautaro Lobo
Lautaro Lobo

Posted on

How Much Math is Needed? (or desirable)

As a Software Developer, how much math do you need to know? You may say none, so, I'll rephraseit a bit, what specific math helps in becoming a better programmer?

And for you seniors out there, what specific math has helped you to grow as a Dev?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
babrown93 profile image
Bill

I think it heavily depends on your business domain, the nature of your development.

Having a basic understanding on math, like operations, statistics, and thinking mathematically is probably essential.

However, for me I work in an industry that heavily relies on math operations because it's the engineering sector. We also have to calculate a lot of things according to geometry and calculus. That being said, I don't need to know these things off by heart, but it makes working with these things much easier if you understand them.

Collapse
 
iceorfiresite profile image
Ice or Fire

It totally depends on what you're programming. I use algebra daily for my web apps but never calculus or geometry. Unless you're going into some specialty, you'll probably not use much higher level math.

Collapse
 
lautarolobo profile image
Lautaro Lobo

My point of view: all about Logic helps you to become a better problem-solver. And if you are in the Data Science field, then you will need some knowledge about statistics for sure.

Collapse
 
davidchase profile image
David Chase

For me personally discrete mathematics and abstract algebra helped me appreciate and become a better software engineer.