DEV Community

Lucas Willems
Lucas Willems

Posted on

If I remove an image from my article, does Dev.to remove it from the servers?

When I upload an image to my post and then remove it, the image seems to still be on Dev.to AWS servers.

  1. Does Dev.to remove it at some point?
  2. If yes, how does it do?
  3. If no, what is the cost of keeping all the uploaded images on the servers?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
lautarolobo profile image
Lautaro Lobo

I imagine that there's a "timeout", and after certain time of the image being unused gets deleted... but I don't know, and I would like to know it 🤔

Collapse
 
lcswillems profile image
Lucas Willems • Edited

But, with this way of doing, posts that are not seen for a duration X would see all their images deleted...

Collapse
 
lautarolobo profile image
Lautaro Lobo

I mean like, there isn't any link pointing to the image... then the timer start to run (?

Thread Thread
 
lcswillems profile image
Lucas Willems

I see what you mean. This is the only solution I see but I would like to know how it is implemented. Do they run a CRON job to check if each image is included in some post?