DEV Community

Bryan Liao
Bryan Liao

Posted on • Originally published at bryanliao.dev

Building in Public - 1

I’m building a client-only version of Splitwise for fun and practice. One thing that I’m trying to figure out is how to persist data without using a server or database. Some client-based options are localStorage and indexedDB, but what if I wanted to collaborate with others or switch computers? At some point, I’d need to save the information somewhere and be able to transfer it somewhere else.

Taking some inspiration from video games, and something I noticed with Pokeclicker, what if it in addition to local storage, I was able to create encoded text files for data? That way I can work locally, save it to my computer or phone, email it elsewhere, etc. Who needs to pay for server hosting 😛

Something to think about, and something I’m going to explore.

Top comments (0)