DEV Community

Lithi
Lithi

Posted on

Freelance Work. What to do?

I am a 20 something year old South African male. I'm down in the dumps. Stuck in a country that doesn't give enough entry work for newly graduated people like myself. Remote work itself is difficult when you come from a country like mine because of loadshedding (Google for more info💀).

To sum all of that up, it isn't sunshine and roses for people from my neck of the woods. I want to change that. I want myself and people like to stop having to struggle. And I'm going to need all your help to circumvent all the unnecessary hurdles.

What're your most recommended tips and advice to becoming a full-fledged and independent freelance developer? What advice would you give for someone who is starting out? Which sites work best for remote work? In all aspects of code. From Web development, to bot development, to data science.

Thank you for your participation and know that you're helping so many people❤️

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

An important aspect about freelance work is convincing someone to hire you to do a job. One way to achieve this is to have a small set of demonstration code, small apps, and a few articles / posts showing your knowledge and capabilities.

Collapse
 
leober_ramos33 profile image
Leober Ramos

This is not an aspect of how to get a job as a Freelancer but I advise you once you have it, learn to distribute your work hours during the day, wake up early and work the stipulated hours, be it 4, 6 or 8 hours, using the technique of Pomodoro 🍅, it will really help you a lot.

When I started, I knew how to distribute my time but I almost always had minutes or even hours when I didn't do anything because I couldn't concentrate well, or I was bored, tired or whatever. And after 2 years working I have learned more about how to work efficiently from home, and that is a simple tip that can help you 🫶.

Also the other is that you designate another hour to exercise, it will help you to make your body and mind healthier and you will work better, also drink a lot of water.

Collapse
 
marciopolicarpo profile image
Marcio Policarpo

Hello. In fact, having a portfolio will increase your chances of being hired, whether as a freelancer or permanent. Participating in free online forums and events increases your business network. Success on your journey.

Collapse
 
sidchat profile image
Sidchat

Get certs mate. You have to cross the gate called HR that is full of non-tech people and that is where certs are very helpful. Rest is up to networking.

Collapse
 
cvanderlei profile image
Celso Vanderlei

I think Linkedin is also a good place to make contact with contractors.

Collapse
 
vjnvisakh profile image
Visakh Vijayan

fiver is a great place for beginners. Once you have decent clients you can create your own portfolio site and start boosting it on social media platforms