DEV Community

Luke Liukonen
Luke Liukonen

Posted on

Why ChatGPT is close but not all there yet

This 4-hour journey started with a Youtube video. "Encrypt your DNS traffic using Pi-Hole and a pf-sense router" may not have been its exact title, but in essence, it's what the topic was. This YouTuber indicates DNS server lookups go over an unencrypted line between you and the DNS provider, and how some of this traffic, can be watched by your ISP, even if you are using a private DNS provider like Google, Cloudflare, or Quad9. My current setup wasn't far off. I have instances of Pi-Hole running on my network, and my Pi-Hole instances pointed straight to Quad9 and a secondary provider. So I had half of the hardware but was missing pf-sense. Watching the video through, I found it really wasn't pf-sense, but a product called unbound.

Some backstories on what some of the technologies are for those interested.
Pi-Hole acts as a passthrough DNS server for your network. A DNS server you can think of as the yellow pages to the internet. Everyone connects to one and it translates "google.com" over to the IP addresses that the string represents. Pihole does the lookups from the provider, and filters anything it knows is an advertisement.

Unbound is an open-source, recursive DNS resolver that provides secure and efficient resolution of domain names. It is designed to enhance privacy and security by implementing features such as DNSSEC validation and DNS over TLS. Unbound is known for its high performance and flexibility, making it a popular choice for individuals, organizations, and even internet service providers looking for a reliable and customizable DNS resolver. It can be used as a standalone resolver or integrated into various systems and applications to improve DNS resolution capabilities. In this case, it acts as a DNS over TLS passthrough between myself and Quad9.

Like the Pen-Pineapple-Apple-Pen guy... I knew that it was only a matter of setting up a docker-compose file, that would pair up my Pi-Hole system with Unbound, and create a decent encrypted DNS out-the-door system.
Essentially traffic would go
PC -> Router -> PiHole -> unbound -> Quad9

Awesome... I had a game plan... now to implement. I went straight to ChatGPT, and asked it to set up the above for me... and within seconds I had a docker-compose file. The issue was, it directed me to a 3rd party project called Stubby.

Now I'm not going to bash Stubby or the developers who wrote it. ChatGPT recommended it to me because it was going to do what I needed without the extra overhead. Like using MS Word when all you need is notepad, sometimes it's better to use the right tool for the job. So down a rabbit hole, I went. First I found that the image ChatGPT sent didn't exist... like.. ever. Did some searches for any reference and came up blank. Ok, I thought... will find a different image. So for about 2 hours, I spent either trying to find a base image that looked reputable or even attempting to build my own. This is for security, I thought, I wasn't going to add a base image that was extremely outdated.

After two hours of failed compiles and images that were either too old or too sketchy, I caved. rewatched the video to catch the name of the product they used, unbound, and started searching Google myself. Well... to be honest, I asked chatGPT who hesitantly sent me to ANOTHER container that did not exist.

So the next two hours, I found a docker container that fits the bill, with the only exception that they used Cloudflare instead of Quad9. I still leveraged ChatGPT, but with more remedial tasks, and after 4 hours I got one of the two Pi-Holes I have running with full DNS over TLS encryption, and in the meantime, learned a lot about DNS over TLS, DNS over HTTPS, and even the new DNS over Quic. I have to reference this as the repo that got me up and running. I took their Docker-compose files and tweaked them slightly (pointing my custom unbound2.conf to /etc/unbound/unbound.conf)in order to point strictly to Quad9, and not Google or Cloudflare, as well as implement IP6 DNS Lookups as well.

So, to the Moral of the story, and the title of the article. ChatGPT helps in a lot of ways, and for some tasks, can slay. However, it is still a long way off from replacing developers' jobs, and sometimes knowing how to google your problems is still the better option.

Top comments (0)