DEV Community

Cover image for Creating A Mac Form Application
With C# and XCode As A Beginner
Lois Harris
Lois Harris

Posted on • Updated on

Creating A Mac Form Application With C# and XCode As A Beginner

It was about 4 years ago when I started to learn programming. I started with C Sharp because I was creating interactive experiences in Unity. I really enjoyed the experience but after the project was complete, I never touched C# again until recently.

I wanted to get back into the language to stretch my programming muscles. I do have 2 Windows (Notebook and a Tower) machines, but both are pretty old and very slow. My Mac, on the other hand, is newer and faster so I will be developing with that. I will see how far I can get with developing an application with this setup before I spend the money on a different OS.

Today, I just wanted to make something basic. I want to connect my GUI to my C# code and "display" (write to the console) my input values. I do want to try something more advanced. Maybe create a to-do app. The logic is simple and I have created a to-do app in JavaScript. Writing it C# with XCode as the interface builder, well that is a different beast for me.

If you are interested in what I did, here is the Github

GitHub logo loiscodes / basic-form-csharp

Learning how to connect XCode designs to C Sharp code

The video I created goes into more detail:

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
loiscodes profile image
Lois Harris

Thank you! I appreciate it