DEV Community

Murlidhar Bhardwaj
Murlidhar Bhardwaj

Posted on

Keep Notes Clone

Hello everyone. Actually this post is not to tell anything to you, but more for some suggestions and ideas. I am trying to make Keep Clone Web App, with my own api. But there's one thing I am stuck on, and that is search functionality. I want this functionality at api level and not on client side for obvious reasons. Can anyone help me out? I know this is not a perfect place to ask questions but I also wanted to share this with you.

Here's the link to the hosted app.

https://keep-clone-api.herokuapp.com/

It uses MongoDB linked to my own account. Up untill now there's no user authentication, but I am planning on doing this later once basic functionality is completed.

And if you need github repo of the same, please ask me. I will share that as well. Any suggestions are welcome, but main topic is that how can I implement search feature on api side.
Thank you.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
lord483 profile image
Murlidhar Bhardwaj • Edited

Please don't put anything bad or explicit in notes, as my mentor also has access to this. This is a humble request. Someone has put up anime character in note exploiting a bug in the application, through which you can put html markup in notes and they will execute. I know this very well and will fix this, but till then please don't do this. Thank you

Collapse
 
amlana24 profile image
amlan

You can deploy an Elasticsearch cluster and implement search using that on the backend. Expose api endpoints which will call the Elasticsearch api.

Collapse
 
lord483 profile image
Murlidhar Bhardwaj

Yeah, but the thing is, I am pretty new to web dev and as starting I want to do thing manually as many as possible to learn the basics, to make a good grasp on things. But eventually I will definitely move to libraries etc..
Though, Thank you for taking time to reply. Stay safe