DEV Community

Cover image for My Minimal Linux Setup 2020
Lori "Lei" Boyd
Lori "Lei" Boyd

Posted on • Updated on

My Minimal Linux Setup 2020

My preferred Os of choice is Linux, and with that, I often spend quite a lot of time setting up my environment. After 'distro' hopping, PopOS is my distro of choice. My bare minimum includes:
. Git
. Node & npm
. Ruby & rails via RVM(version manager for all things ruby)
. SQLite
. Atom text editor

Installations

This installation guide assumes you are using a Debian/Ubuntu-based Linux distro.

before you start it's helpful to update your package information and do any necessary upgrades.

$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get upgrade

Git

Installing Git is as simple as running the install command and setting up your global user.

apt-get install git

To configure your profile run the following:

$ git config --global user.name "John Doe"
$ git config --global user.email "johndoe@example.com"

Next, you can generate a new SSH key for authentication with this guide.
You can follow this guide to add the new SSH key to your account.

Node & NPM

To keep this setup minimal, I'll be installing the distro-stable versions for Ubuntu. Run

$ sudo apt install nodejs

and

$ sudo apt install npm

.

RVM (Ruby & Rails)

RVM's official installation guide is the best source to use when installing RVM. It even offers a few diffent install options.
After installing GPG keys with this:

gpg --keyserver hkp://pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys 409B6B1796C275462A1703113804BB82D39DC0E3 7D2BAF1CF37B13E2069D6956105BD0E739499BDB

You can choose any of the basic installs. I go for the "Poor man's Rails installer"

\curl -sSL https://get.rvm.io | bash -s stable --rails

\curl -sSL https://get.rvm.io | bash -s stable --ruby

This installs the latest stable version of Ruby and Rails.
After everything is finished installing, restart your terminal.

Sqlite

Check to see if you currently have Sqlite installed with $ sqlite3 ---version
If you don't get a version number, install it with $ sudo apt install sqlite3

Text Editor

The default text editors don't usually do it for me so I'll end up installing Atom instead.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
jacobgc profile image
Jacob

Not sure how up to date pop's repos are for NodeJS, however I would really recommend using NVM (Node Version Manager) (Looks similar to RVM)

I also used to use atom, however I've been using VSCode now, you got any thoughts on using it?

Collapse
 
insanenaman profile image
Naman Gupta • Edited

I also agree with you. NVM is better than native installation. Doesn't need sudo for global installation. πŸ˜ͺ

VS Codium also can be introduced to the list.

Collapse
 
leesmith profile image
Lee Smith 🍻

ASDF has been my savior lately.

Collapse
 
emtes profile image
Enmanuel de la Nuez

Pop!_OS is my distro of choice as well! I use NodeJS and Python a lot and I recommend pyenv for version management and NVM like someone else mentioned.

I also really appreciate Starship, a shell prompt built in Rust. Minimal, stylish, and fast.

Collapse
 
daveparr profile image
Dave Parr • Edited

Just installed starship, looks really neat :)

Also +1 for pyenv.

Collapse
 
daveparr profile image
Dave Parr • Edited

Oh man, I am so into pop os right now. I have it as the only install in my new desktop. I love the UI, I love the auto-tiling, I love the cuda install process, I love the little robots turning up everywhere, I love the keyboard shortcuts.

magnitude from community at a podium shouting pop pop

Collapse
 
endymion1818 profile image
Ben Read • Edited

Pop!_Os is my system of choice too, it’s so smooth especially around workspaces and developer tooling.