DEV Community

Mamoor Jaan Khan
Mamoor Jaan Khan

Posted on

Docker: a super cool tool beginners tend to skip

Initially, when I came across application stacks like MERN, MEAN etc, every tutorial seemed to agree that at some point later in the application stack, devs used Docker for "some reason". When I was just beginning and exploring, I thought, "This isn't something I should bother with right now". Looking back, I now realise, Docker is something very cool, simple and yet, powerful and the earlier any dev starts to use Docker in their applications, the more they will get used to it and liking it.

Docker is a containerisation tool. Have you ever seen memes of devs saying "Well, this application works on my computer, I don't know why it doesn't on yours". So, in frustration, Can a dev instead of just sharing the application, send the entire computer to them virtually? Spoiler alert! Yes. With Docker.

I am not going to write a tutorial and I am not linking any youtube links. There is plenty of stuff online a search away and I am sure people would be kind enough to link some resources in the comments.

I highly recommend all devs to learn Docker. It will hardly take any time (well, compared to learning Apoxia-inducing languages like Java) and it will be worth it. Trust me.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ruthmoog profile image
ruthmoog

Agree (although, poor Java!), Docker's one of those things that gets blown up as unapproachable which makes it harder to get round to it.

The tutorial in the Docker docs is excellent, and quick. Worth playing around with to bring it into perspective.

Collapse
 
lownightsnack profile image
Mamoor Jaan Khan

Exactly, right? I wish I learnt Docker a lot before. And the reason why I didn't learn then was exactly the reason you explain. I hope people find it as useful and start using it more.