DEV Community

Lucian Ghinda
Lucian Ghinda

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at allaboutcoding.ghinda.com

A simple idea about how to grow the Ruby community

As a followup from my article yesterday about Why write technical content on a blog and not only on social media about how I think we can grow the Ruby community::

Write more technical content about Ruby.

Why will this help?

First, more content means more reach and thus will offer more people the chance to learn about Ruby and how we solve problems with Ruby.

Second, it will contribute to having more learning resources. And as more people will write, more diverse writing styles will be and thus better chances for someone to find something that fits their learning style.

Third, it will increase the business/tech leads exposure to Ruby and solutions created in Ruby.

In the long publishing continuously

What to write about?

Anything about how to use Ruby to solve problems. If you don't have any idea, take any old article and write a fresh version of it.

Here are some more ideas:

  • You can write a small introduction to how to use a web framework, like Rails or Hanami 2 or Sinatra or Roda any other web framework

  • Or you can write how you solved something in your daily job where you work with Ruby. Tell us the problem and the solution

  • Write about how you think people that are learning Ruby or Rails or Hanami or Roda should approach their learning path

  • Write about how you are writing Ruby code, what is important for you and what you like about Ruby

I assure you, YOU have something to write about. Even if other people wrote about the same topic, you must write your article.

In general, I recommend you read this blog post by Julia Evans -> Some Blogging Myths

Maybe

You will say that what's the point of writing such articles now that we have LLMs and maybe people will go to ChatGPT to learn Ruby.

If we don't write fresh content, the next generation of LLMs will be trained on less Ruby content, so it might be less fit to answer questions about Ruby in the future.


Enjoyed this article?

Join my Short Ruby News newsletter for weekly Ruby updates. Also, check out my co-authored book, LintingRuby, for insights on automated code checks. For more Ruby learning resources, visit rubyandrails.info**

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
geezerviv profile image
geezer-viv

Thank you so much for this article it has inspired me to write something (for the first time).
There are few notes that I wrote for myself over many years after I discovered a solution to a particular problem that I had.
Notes that I think I should share them in a form of a blog post.

The only issue is, English is not my first language and am not sure if English speaking audience will be taking it kindly.

Collapse
 
lucianghinda profile image
Lucian Ghinda

I think you should start writing. English is not my first language so I am pretty sure I am also making mistakes.

I recommend Grammarly if you can/want to use it. It fixes most grammar mistakes.

But also we are living in a very international environment so I think you should not hold yourself back because your first article might not sound very English :) most people will enjoy the message.