DEV Community

Cover image for So you like to create npm packages 📦📦 ?
Lucas.T
Lucas.T

Posted on • Updated on

So you like to create npm packages 📦📦 ?

Hi everyone 👋

I'm writing this little post to tell you about a project I'm working on,
I've been playing with the NodeJs API for two years now and it's really cool !! I try my best to be as productive as possible and as soon as I have an idea for a product, package, etc. I try to create it, but here is my problem:

Duplicate project configuration is annoying !.

So if you are like me and you use Node other than to launch an HTTP server with Express (I'm kidding, I like Express a lot) you must have realized that many projects often have the same structure, the same tools with the same configuration and it is painful to recover this structure and adapt it to a new project?

If not, then this article is not for you sorry 😭 😭

Otherwise, you propably been in my situation, which is why I decided to create this small package, the idea is very simple I have a basic structure that I reproduce each time I decide to create an npm package there it is:

Note: Do not hesitate to like this repo 🙃

So I created a small cli package that will allow you to copy and paste this structure and adapt it according to your needs, this allows you to quickly start a new project with pre-configured tools like:

  • Eslint (with Airbnb configuration).
  • Prettier.
  • TravisCI.
  • Ava to perform tests.
  • Configuration of a .gitignore file according to the language used.
  • Configured npm scripts.
  • Etc ...

If you want more info on what you can do with this package I let the link of the doc and also the GitHub repository on which you can, of course, contribute if you have an idea or even submit an issue.

Thank you for your attention,

my name is Lucas I'm a full stack developer I mainly use Js 💛 and I really love open source feel free to look at my work and follow me, thank you 🙂

Top comments (0)