DEV Community

Cover image for A pinch of business and a spoonful of software engineering - What it takes to become a Fullstack Entrepreneur!
Mohamed Hussein
Mohamed Hussein

Posted on

A pinch of business and a spoonful of software engineering - What it takes to become a Fullstack Entrepreneur!

"_ The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing" – Walt Disney _

Life without technology is no longer imaginable. If the Internet fails only once in a company or in your daily life, it is directly equivalent to an apocalyptic like state. Especially in times like these with the corona crisis, it becomes clear once again how vital technology is and - let's face it - without technology all of us would have gone crazy long ago. The demand and most importantly need for tech and tech-proficient people is ever-mounting and growing by the second which is why so many serial entrepreneurs are feeling the pull into the world of programming and software development.

But for me, it was not quite like that. From the early beginning, I knew that two hearts were beating in my chest: the enthusiasm for development and how to create whole universe out of nowhere and the urge to start my own company with entrepreneurial skill and drive.

But how to combine two so different worlds? And most importantly, make it work. Doesn't sound so easy right?

And this is where my story begins in 2010 with a laptop screen and the movie "The Social Network." I wanted to create something as groundbreaking and life-changing as those men at Harvard did with the arrival of Facebook, spurring me to release KAWKB: a 3D augmented reality platform. Meeting with some of the brightest tech minds in Egypt, I was inspired to continue inventing, creating Alsha3byoreed.com, a newspaper that disseminated unbiased information after the Egyptian revolution. We partnered with thousands of people, launching our news concept worldwide. And that was just the beginning.

Going onto founding 1UNi, a SaaS-enabled marketplace powered by AI, helping students to match with top programs at universities and programs, I began to really hone in on my innate tech skills with talent and partners from around the world. During this time, I was able to look back on exciting 11 years of experience in managing driving business operations, leading teams and diving deep into business knowledge.

These profound experiences have shaped me to this day, and I can say without any doubt that I would not want to miss any of these experiences. Nevertheless, I felt that the world of business could no longer give me everything I am passionate about. To become a Fullstack – Entrepreneur, who is not just capable of running a whole business, it was time to develop myself further and give my second passion more space in my life - introducing the wonderful world of software engineering.

After the company no longer needed my full attention in its new track, I put 1UNi in the capable hands of my operation manager, the talented and enthusiastic Entrepneur Mounir Addoun, to lead 1UNi now as the General Manager. While me providing guidance and resources if needed in helping him to push through with 1UNi to become a platform for students from all over the world that want to study in Malaysia, I can fully rely on my motivated and experienced team.

So it was my way once again to make an electrifying new journey.

_ As engineers, we were going to be in a position to change the world not just study it" ― H. Petroski _

I decided to collaborate with Salesminded, a full suite of sales programming software that expedites sales closings seamlessly with core business operation suites for SMEs.I knew it was time to put my expertise to the test in the form of a sales product.

With Salesminded, users can identify potential customers, engage those customers are critical points in the funnel, convert the customers into paying clients, and ensure collections without any extra effort. We are a leading development team and part of the Commerice.Asia Group, which works to enable the platform as part of their tech network. Our team builds leading end-to-end SaaS solutions for businesses to manage all of their operations from accounting and sales, to HR and operations, inside one rich ecosystem.

Salesminded is different from the competition in that it is easy to use so customers can master the system in just minutes, without clutter and confusing complexities that can mess up analytics, flexible for users to use at their own pace, and cross-industry capable for business operational issues. Finally, it's a sales solution that actually understands the complexities and nuances of the business.

"_ The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." - Eleanor Roosevelt _

It's safe to say, I am never content with remaining complacent in the world of tech or programming potential. Today, I collaborate with both of these flourishing operations with the hopes of streamlining so many jobs and industries around the world.

Since this is getting already longer as expected, I am planning to write more pieces about my journey and what it takes to become a Fullstack - Entrepreneur in the future about business and software development, helping individuals, companies, and key stakeholders abreast on industry inventions and changes.

Salesminded is just one example of what's possible with creativity, drive, and a passion for the tech revolution. I can't wait to see what the future has in store.

Top comments (0)