DEV Community

Cover image for Create professional portfolio website with Nextjs and ChakraUI
Muhammad  Ahmad
Muhammad Ahmad

Posted on • Updated on

Create professional portfolio website with Nextjs and ChakraUI

Currently, I'm learning Nextjs and Typescript. And for learning perspective I decided to rebuilt my portfolio website with Nextjs. And I really loved it. It was so easy to recreate my portfolio website with Nextjs.
So far I'm using some of Nextjs features.

Built with

Demo Link: Portfolio
GitHub Repo: Repo

Skills

screen1

Open source projects

screen2

screen3

Developer story

screen4

Note: I have already created this website with reactjs and chakraUI.

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
youpiwaza profile image
max

Pretty neat overall. Got a little bug : In developper sotry I got some scrollbar (both horizontal & vertical) in each story.

Here's what it looks like :

scrolls

Here's my config :

support details

I'm on Chrome beta.

Hope it helps ;)

Cheers

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Glad you liked it.
I'll fix this issue soon.

Collapse
 
mayankkalbhor profile image
Mayank K

I too found it out and was checking how to fix it

Thread Thread
 
mayankkalbhor profile image
Mayank K

Is this fixed

Collapse
 
akshat202002 profile image
Akshat202002

can you update your app to chakra v2

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad • Edited

@akshat202002
I have updated the majority of npm packages to their latest versions. You can now use node v16.x.
For node versions 18 and 19, try to run this command export NODE_OPTIONS=--openssl-legacy-provider, but this is a temporary solution and not recommended.

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

@akshat202002 Are you facing any issues on chakraUI v2?

Collapse
 
akshat202002 profile image
Akshat202002

yeah I've having trouble with node v18 as well as other dependencies

Thread Thread
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Alright.
Currently, I'm busy with other projects. I'll upgrade it to latest chakra version soon.

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

This is amazing.
I ♥ next.js and chakra

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Glad you liked it.
Great work by the creators of next.js and chakraUi.

Collapse
 
mayankkalbhor profile image
Mayank K

Is there any step by step guide for this? I was checking how i can start from basic create-next-app and then start building something like this.

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad • Edited

No.
But you can follow these steps to create a site like this.

  • Create basic Next app.
  • Install ChakraUI and other related packages
  • First start with nav-bar component. Create nav-bar.
  • Then create home page component
  • Similarly create other pages one by one
Collapse
 
mayankkalbhor profile image
Mayank K

Got it. Thanks I will follow the steps

Collapse
 
aligerm profile image
Ali

Great work man.

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Thank you Ali.

Collapse
 
karthiknayak98 profile image
KarthikNayak

Amazing..

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Thank you.

Collapse
 
siarhei_siniak_marketing profile image
Siarhei Siniak

do you use a custom domain for a portfolio website?

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Yes. I'm using custom domain for my portfolio-website but it is built with react. I'll migrate it from react to Nextjs.

Collapse
 
siarhei_siniak_marketing profile image
Siarhei Siniak

i've few issues with web search indexing. I've checked your website with site:mahmad.me. It seems that your blog post links are not indexed, only some general caption for the website. Is that ok?

Collapse
 
kudoabhijeet profile image
Abhijeet Prasad

amazing 🚀

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Thank you.

Collapse
 
dev_emmy profile image
nshimiye_emmy

this is great mn congraturations

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Glad you liked it.

Collapse
 
mayhs19 profile image
Shyam Sunder VR

This is pretty awesome. Nice work !!

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Thanks

Collapse
 
anshuman1307 profile image
anshuman1307

Looks stunning.

Could you please let me know how to remove the blue border on close and menu buttons.

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad • Edited

Thank you.
You can remove it by installing focus-visible package.
You can also take help from my previous portfolio code.
Github Repo
Demo

Collapse
 
akshat202002 profile image
Akshat202002

Can you tell me which postgres hosting service are you using with prisma ui

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Heroku

Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more