DEV Community

Madza
Madza

Posted on

What is your favorite online code sandbox tool?

Setting up new project locally just for quick ideas and snippets usually is a bit of overkill, since it takes time to set up, requires use of many tools (like editor, browser and terminal) and you end up with extra files in your machine.

That's where online code sandboxes come in. These requires no setup, includes all tools for tests/preview in single space and allow to quickly get rid of your snippets with just of a press of a button.

For a long time I used a combination of jsbin.com and codepen.io, recently moved to codesandbox.io and never really looked back.

What is your current favorite online code sandbox and why?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
iwaniukooo11 profile image
Mateusz Iwaniuk • Edited

It depends. If it comes to writing code, i prefer codepen.io. That is the easy way to write something in HTML/SCSS/JS (even React!)

But when I have to show my code in python (f.e) and I need someone to edit this with me, the codeshare is the best option

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks, have to give codeshare a try!

Collapse
 
kirk profile image
Kirk • Edited

I designed a technology called WarpJS to integrate JavaScript Front end & Back end, and I wanted people to be able to try it without installing anything… so I developed an online JavaScript editor with it, and I ended up creating the first real time JavaScript Full Stack playground!.
Tell me what you think about it, feedbacks much appreciated :)

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

That's awesome πŸ‘ Runs pretty good on the snippets I tested πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
meaculpa profile image
Dom Culpa • Edited

I use repl.it/ almost all the time, they always had everything I needed.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Looks promising by their landing page alone xdd

Collapse
 
meaculpa profile image
Dom Culpa

Yeah, looks like they stepped their game up recently. Been using it for some years now :D

Collapse
 
carolskelly profile image
Carol Skelly

Codeply, for 3 reasons: 1) easy to add popular frameworks, 2) includes snippets in the editor, 3) I made it!

I'm looking forward to when Dev.to adds itπŸ˜‰ to their embeds.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza • Edited

Good job on that, looks solid.. Nothing beats the feeling when you get some productive outcome from tools that you have made yourself, that's for sure ;)