DEV Community

Cover image for Nintendo Switch Midi Controller with Max MSP
Gwyneth Peña-Siguenza
Gwyneth Peña-Siguenza

Posted on

Nintendo Switch Midi Controller with Max MSP

Thanks to all the free time lately, I've been dabbling into a different kind of development, one that bridges my passion for music production with programming.

Max, also known as Max/MSP/Jitter, is a visual programming language for music and multimedia developed and maintained by San Francisco-based software company Cycling '74. You can learn now about it here

In this video, I'll show you how to turn a Nintendo Switch JoyCOn into a drum rack sample trigger!

If you'd like to try it out for yourself, code is here:

If you have ANY feedback at all, please let me know in the comments below or reach out to me on socials.

Thanks for reading and possibly watching!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
avillegasr profile image
Andrés Villegas

Hi! I have an idea for a personal project in mind that involves reading the joy cons as a MIDI input and your video and this post is, for now, all I've found on the subject. Would you be up for helping me a bit? Thank you!

Collapse
 
septk profile image
David ML

Looks cool! impressed to see initiatives/projects build with max