DEV Community

Cover image for Have you tried Kubernetes?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

Have you tried Kubernetes?

Kubernetes, also known as K8s, is an open-source system for automating deployment, scaling, and management of containerized applications.

For me K8s has always been in the same category as Rust - I hear great things about it all the time, tho I still have not found time to try it.

Have you tried Kubernetes? What are your thoughts on it?
Could you share some projects where you used it?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
akajla09 profile image
Aditya Kajla

I've used k8s at both small and large companies. We're also currently using it at my startup Warrant. I'm by no means an expert but I've found DigitalOcean to be a great stack to start with if you want to experiment with k8s and learn about the core benefits/ecosystem (auto-scaling, metrics/logging, infra as code etc).

There is a learning curve and initial cost to getting set up on k8s but I've found that it scales really well as your product and team also grow. For that reason, I'm a fan.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the share! πŸ™β€

Collapse
 
andreidascalu profile image
Andrei Dascalu

I'm using it both personally and professionally for every project for the past 4 years. Also been holding workshops for developers (k8s for developers, rather all the setup/management stuff)

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for sharing πŸ™β€ Also, could you elaborate on what type of projects do you work and briefly describe the complexity/scale of them? πŸ‘€

Collapse
 
andreidascalu profile image
Andrei Dascalu

Well, they range from my personal site and a couple others hosted on a small cluster with autoscaling so that I can easily throw in experiments without needing to manually setup servers to rather complex multi-tenant SaaS applications where I use multiple clusters ranging from 10 to 100 nodes each (I favor Azure and GKE for k8s)

Thread Thread
 
madza profile image
Madza

Awesome you have found a workflow that works for you πŸ‘πŸ˜‰
I have yet to learn a lot about the topics you mentioned, but comments like these make me experiment with things and realize that there are always more advanced solutions out there πŸ˜‰ Good job on sharing πŸ™β€

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

I've used it professionally for the past 3 years at my fulltime job, but I've never used it for my personal projects actually, just feels like an overkill for what I'm currently doing.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for the insight on this πŸ™β€