DEV Community

Cover image for What are the best free tools you use?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What are the best free tools you use?

A while ago I create a topic on what paid services do you use, now let's discuss your favorite free tools/services!

To start off, some of my favs include Linux, Chrome, VS Code, GIMP, InkScape, Figma, Libra Office, Postman, Bitwarden, ShareX and others.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

One thing that I think is a hidden gem is Tiddlywiki! It is a portable wiki page which you can put on a thumb drive/dropbox, etc.. and save all sorts of stuff. I save links notes pictures. Great free tool in javascript!
tiddlywiki.com/

Collapse
 
cairocafe profile image
bleskop stevens

I use a notekeeping app called Joplin. I use it in the style of a Zettelkasten as it also let's me save photos, markdown and so on. It let's me store notes in notebooks and I can add tags to my notes.

There are clients for the web, cli and mobile devices. I self-host mine on my Nextcloud instance so unlike notion where the possibility exists my data may be compromised I have total control over it.

It also supports encryption at rest and right out of the box supports mermaid diagrams and export to PDF.

Collapse
 
amritanshupandey profile image
Amritanshu Pandey

Insomnia REST API client - insomnia.rest/

I prefer it over Postman for its simplicity and good feature set.

Collapse
 
asyraf profile image
Amirul Asyraf

I use boostnote.io for markdown notes

Collapse
 
hrishio profile image
Hrishi Mittal

I use too many to list them all, but the one which I love and not many people know about is Simplenote. Does exactly what it says on the tin. I recommend it - simplenote.com/

Collapse
 
joppedc profile image
JoppeDC • Edited
  • Notion, though i have upgraded to the paid plan.
  • Postman
  • Sequel Ace (Sequel Pro replacement)