DEV Community

Cover image for What database do you use at work?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What database do you use at work?

Lately, I've been dealing mostly with relational DBs and the project I'm working on is using MySQL.

I'm curious what database/-s do you mainly use at your work?

Top comments (39)

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

There's a few dotted around in some odd applications. We have:

  • MySQL
  • MariaDB
  • Redis
  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • Access

I only support the MySQL, MariaDB, and Redis applications; but I have a project (starting next year) to migrate the applications on Access to something slightly more sensible.

Collapse
 
bretthancox profile image
bretthancox

Access is like mold; once it's in, you have to work hard to get it out. If you give people Access they will turn it into business-critical functionality, but without the support and testing necessary. The worst part is the inevitable "Why aren't you supporting this?"

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

The team who implemented it are very aware that it's not supported by IT, as are the directors. I work for a very understanding company in that respect. Any issues with that database are their own.

The team who implemented and manage that one are also the ones driving a build into a standard company platform. Mainly so their full team can use it at the same time. They have the business rules documented, as well as their processes, so they are well placed to help and test a properly built version.

Again, I'm really lucky with the business I work for.

Collapse
 
jruhnke profile image
Jay Ruhnke • Edited

I oversee several legacy projects and they all have different databases. I have tried several times to consolidate to a few but the customers and their requirements always seem to prevent it.

  • Oracle (versions from 11g to 19c)
  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • EnterpriseDB
  • MySQL
  • MariaDB
  • vanilla PostgreSQL
  • DB2
  • BerkeleyDB
  • Accumulo
  • HBASE
  • MongoDB
  • Redis
  • ElasticSearch
Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

That's a nice list πŸ˜‰ Do you see yourself as being specialized in the databases especially? I assume being competent in such a variety of databases requires a wide range of knowledge πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
jruhnke profile image
Jay Ruhnke

I know enough to be dangerous. I have a wide breadth of experience but do not claim to be an expert in any of these systems. My background is as a utility infielder... I worked for Oracle for a while (Identity and Access Management developer) so I am more comfortable with that.

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

My day-to-day software development is on an embedded platform, writing low-level development such as firmware, and other high-level development such as software application, UI Design and automation scripting. The database I usually use the most is just NoSQL or sometimes MongoDB. But most of the time is NoSQL to store data collected from the sensors and many other types of sources.

I love to bring the technologies from the outside of the embedded platform into the embedded platform.

Collapse
 
codefinity profile image
Manav Misra

Firestore is quick and easy.
If not, then MongoDB is the 'go-to.' If not, then SQLite for personal stuff or PostGres if necessary 😞.
Besides that, I really like the 'hybrid' SQL-NoSQL features offered with HarperDB combined with their front-end API so that we can get a lot done more easily. πŸ€“

Collapse
 
pazyp profile image
Andrew Pazikas

Pretty much exclusively Oracle (since I am an Oracle Engineer) my work has everything from 9i to 19c albeit I only really look at 12c and above these days. I've dabbled in PostgreSQL a little and MySQL/MariaDB in the past

Collapse
 
davidcockerill profile image
DavidCockerill

I love using HarperDB. Simple to use, supports SQL & NoSQL. I may be a little biased though...

Collapse
 
reegodev profile image
Matteo Rigon

Mostly postgres for self-hosted applications, and faunadb for serverless and frontend

Collapse
 
yenyih profile image
Jordan Soo Yen Yih

PostgeSQL, CouchDB, IndexedDB, ElasticSearch

Collapse
 
niel_morphius profile image
Moses Daniel Kwaknat

Well we were using MySQL but right now we are currently migrating to Dynamodb

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Might I ask some of the reasons behind the migration?

Collapse
 
niel_morphius profile image
Moses Daniel Kwaknat

We needed to build a delta functionality and we can't do that with the mySQL db since our platform is hosted on AWS, hence the migration

Collapse
 
mzaini30 profile image
Zen

MySQL. I never use other.

Collapse
 
zeecnla profile image
Cesar Melchor

Microsoft SQL Server. personal projects I've used mongodb

Collapse
 
spiritupbro profile image
spiritupbro

postgresql and mongodb coz both is open source and i love open source

Collapse
 
alenpaulvarghese profile image
AlenPaulVarghese • Edited
  1. MONGO-DB, FIREBASE - ( due to the reason that I usually use heroku )
  2. SQLITE3 - ( for local small scale applications )

Of-cource I am a begineer πŸ˜… .

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel

a client recently asked for a solution based on dgraph. I would love to get my hands on that project.

Collapse
 
alaindet profile image
Alain D'Ettorre

MariaDB/MySQL when I can, otherwise PostgreSQL. Collegues use Microsoft and Oracle SQL servers