DEV Community

Cover image for What do you use for video calls?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What do you use for video calls?

When it comes to video call apps, there are lots of options like Zoom, WhatsApp, Google Dou, Apple Facetime, Messanger, Skype, etc.
Which one do you use and why would you recommend it?

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
joelrozen profile image
Joel Rozen

Jitsi.
Self hosted or not, you don’t have to create accounts, download anything, or tell them anything about you or your users.
Also I run daily 10 person meetings in full HD on an Amazon t2 micro instance - way cheaper than paying for 10 zoom subscriptions!

Collapse
 
jcsh profile image
Justin Ho

Agreed, supporting open source and it's comparably better than most other video conferencing software.

Collapse
 
tombruijn profile image
Tom de Bruijn

For personal use I like whereby.com. Runs directly in the browser so there's no app hassle.

Collapse
 
pavel_polivka profile image
Pavel Polívka

We are using WebEx at work, would not recommend it. I consistently does not work correctly with headset on PC, so you need to make it call your phone.

In the past we used MS Teams, would breakup when there is more people using video but was fine for small team. And zoom for whole company meetings etc... The free version gives you very limited time...

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

It always depends on which video call app my clients or my friends use, then I'll install all of them. But mainly, using Google Meet because most people have it. I also have created a web-based P2P video chat to replacing these apps. But I haven't fully utilized it yet.

Collapse
 
danielnewell profile image
Daniel Newell

For school, we mainly use Microsoft Teams

Collapse
 
heatherw profile image
Heather Williams • Edited

Work I use google meet which works well for an organisation already using all things google. Although we are using Zoom for our weekly social meeting due to the breakout rooms feature.
I also use Zoom for online classes (pilates, cake decorating) but I find the Zoom client for Ubuntu to be unstable and it often starts chewing through memory so I usually default to the less feature rich web client.
And finally I use Jitsi for the bookclub I run. Jitsi is my personal favourite, easy to get going, easy to use, has some nice features like being able to change an individual participants volume (helpful if you have people who speak softly or sit far from the mic).

Collapse
 
ender_minyard profile image
ender minyard

Jitsi! I like how simple it is and that it's open source.

Collapse
 
jrbrtsn profile image
John Robertson

Lolz! Still useful for screen sharing ...

Collapse
 
xsavitar profile image
𝗗𝗲𝗿𝗶𝗰𝗸 𝗔𝗹𝗮𝗻𝗴𝗶 🐬

It depends on what kind of video call you want to have. Video calls are for different reasons like social stuff, work with clients etc.

Could you add more context to the question regarding what the video call is about then I can chime in with tools that I use per scenario. Thank you!

Collapse
 
cacilhas profile image
Montegasppα Cacilhας

Here we use both Google Meet and Zoom.

Collapse
 
lvtdeveloper profile image
Lesly Villalobos

For work my favorite is zoom because I can record the video calls... For personal use IG

Collapse
 
spez profile image
Abhigyan

Google Meet for formal talks, Google Duo to talk with family members and Discord for talking with friends when coding together.

Collapse
 
otomer profile image
Tomer Ovadia

Bluejeans

Collapse
 
delta456 profile image
Swastik Baranwal

Zoom because its very common in India

Collapse
 
gnunicorn profile image
Benjamin Kampmann

google hangouts at work - went through all the things (Zoom, Whereby, Jitsi...), and ended up there again. On top for more presentation style things we are very happy with crowdcast.io .