DEV Community

Cover image for Where do you host your images?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

Where do you host your images?

How do you approach image hosting for image-heavy sites?

Do you use services like Cloudinary, or Cloudflare for caching and CDN or do you have some ther cost-effective solutions?

Top comments (26)

Collapse
 
iwaniukooo11 profile image
Mateusz Iwaniuk

AWS S3

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza • Edited

What's the learning curve, tho? πŸ‘€

Collapse
 
iwaniukooo11 profile image
Mateusz Iwaniuk

Docs, I guess. I have built one of my aps using S3 using only docs and some random articles

Collapse
 
nucliweb profile image
Joan LeΓ³n

Btw, if you are interested in modern image formats go to join to "ImageReady: An event featuring talks about modern image formats" on Friday Oct 2.

πŸ‘‰πŸΌ meetup.com/es-ES/Toronto-Web-Perfo...

Collapse
 
king11 profile image
Lakshya Singh

Can someone ban these people they are ruining the community.

Collapse
 
pedropcruz profile image
Pedro Cruz

why? It's a good question in my opinion

Collapse
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair

This guy asks post tons of questions daily, and don't even bother looking at answers then. Something is wrong there.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for reporting them, seems like devs removed the comments β€πŸ™

Collapse
 
web_dev_ayush profile image
Ayush Kumar Singh

I just compress them as .webp and use them at my own dedicated hosting.

Collapse
 
nucliweb profile image
Joan LeΓ³n

Is a good option, but with a service like Cloudinary the API send to the browser the better optimization and supported image format.

Safari (iOS or Mac) don't have support to webp format.

Collapse
 
web_dev_ayush profile image
Ayush Kumar Singh

you can set up for fallback .png and .jpeg images for not supported platforms.

Thread Thread
 
nucliweb profile image
Joan LeΓ³n

I know it, recently I published the same approach with AVIF format twitter.com/nucliweb/status/130228...

Thread Thread
 
web_dev_ayush profile image
Ayush Kumar Singh

Is AVIF a new format I have no idea about it?

Thread Thread
 
nucliweb profile image
Joan LeΓ³n

Totally, take a look to the awesome post jakearchibald.com/2020/avif-has-la... by Jake Archibald

Collapse
 
stlcajun profile image
Luther Lowry

Just started using Cloudinary for my last project. So far, it's been pretty awesome. Now, if I can just figure out how to get images to automatically upload after being referenced in my Gridsome site, that would be even nicer (so far, I've been manually uploading images as needed, but it would be nice to have a single place to do everything).

Collapse
 
jswhisperer profile image
Greg, The JavaScript Whisperer
Collapse
 
mzaini30 profile image
Zen

imgbb

Collapse
 
dim0147 profile image
Bon

Does this site have a limit 50 requests per hour? Like imgur

Collapse
 
pazzavlad profile image
Vlad Harbarchuk

You don't need CDN in most cases...

Collapse
 
nucliweb profile image
Joan LeΓ³n • Edited

Cloudinady πŸ¦„

I love the API πŸ₯°

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Awesome, seems to be among the most popular choices as I've heard from devs πŸ‘πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
nfrankel profile image
Nicolas Frankel

I'm using images on my blog.

The blog and the images are in a GitLab repository, and the blog is published on GitLab pages. In front, I've set up Cloudflare.

Collapse
 
mitchartemis profile image
Mitch Stanley

Blackblaze B2 + Cloudflare

Collapse
 
axiol profile image
Arnaud Delante

Started using Cloudinary with my last project. Quite well done. On the fly images transformations is pretty nice

Collapse
 
raselrostock profile image
raselrostock

Stupidity Should have some level !!!

Collapse
 
daxdax89 profile image
DaX

I use cloud flare. Does a good job

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.