DEV Community

Cover image for Don't do this in your tech interviews!!(My learnings so far...)
Mayank Kumar
Mayank Kumar

Posted on • Updated on

Don't do this in your tech interviews!!(My learnings so far...)

Let's keep it short and simple about what are my learnings from the interviews I have given so far in the year of 2023. I will also share my small moments throughout on every aspect.

First of all, Hi from Mayank and Stitch which will be with you throughout the post. Dev.to.

Hi from stitch

So I have given Interview for SDE and MERN developer roles, and here are the learnings:

Know your language

Always have enough hands-on with the language and look-up for common built-ins used in the language. Also getting comfortable with a web editor helps during interview.

Funny story: Somewhere in March 2k23, I was interviewed for full-stack MERN. And the conversation was like,
Interviewer: How would you rate yourself in JavaScript?
Me: Out of 5 or 10? (confidence πŸ˜‚)
Interviewer: Out of 5 (and I said 4!!)
After that it started with array declaration and then bombarding of inbuilt of js which I seriously didn't prepared for and I don't know how I made through the interview 🫠. My mistake totally!

Don't jump to tutorials and feel you are ready!

I have changed my approach, now I try one good tutorial create a codebase, after that I use that codebase and try to create my own logic for a very basic app to just learn the functionality.

Stitch walking to interview

Use Chat-GPT to get idea and code structure but try to type the code on your own

A serious one!, I have seen myself indulging in GPT usage this much, that I could just know how to use any code but I had problem typing it out. Get your syntax perfect even just knowing what to type, simply copy-pasting is not useful.

One more on Reactjs interview, I easily made a form with useState to show the values, unless asked to make a array in useState and insert the values in array. I was blank with syntax, but slowly keeping myself calm, I was able to complete it with interviewer's help. Also the above interview(js-4/5), I was asked to make a drop-down, which I hadn't used it in a while, there also I was stuck. So get the syntax straight!!

Always be prepared with a polished introduction (*basic communication tip)

I still sometimes forget some part of introduction, but all-in-all it should give the idea of who you are, what you are doing and learning, your project ideas and why applied for this role. Also adding some relevant experience is a plus. *I stammered in my first HR interview when she directly asked 'So tell me about yourself'😝.

Look for basic questions of interview(GFG, InterviewBit, etc.)

Concepts like hoisting, fork process, sharding, event callback flow, asynchronous programming, and small topics like this, I hadn't perfect idea before a Node.js Intern Developer role and some basic JavaScript concepts. Kind interviewer explained me every concept clearly *live tutorial 🌟, ofc didn't made itπŸ˜‚.

Learn stitch!

Make small projects on concepts and put everything on GitHub

Got this tip from recent interview to just type-out and keep ready small projects on topics i.e.- OOPS concept, basic CRUD apps, Redux Implementation(Make a to-do list, or just basic input and showing data on webpage) / Context API, and push all the code on GitHub to showcase them instantly.

I just tried giving a .NET full-stack dev interview, because HR explained that basically it's related to front-end development for freshers. Oh my God! I jotted down basics of .NET core, MVC, hands on C# language, ASP.NET and some other concepts. The interviewer directly started with any project implementations on OOPS in C#🀣. I explained the concepts but I didn't had any projects. So yes, didn't got the role. OfcccπŸ€”

So it ends with a condensed part which I also follow,Know what you are doing, Keep proof of work, and stay calm!. That's it

Hit me up on my socials for discussing any stories or any project ideas,
Instagram-mank_42
Twitter-okaymank
Linked-In-Mayank Kumar
Github-mank-423

Top comments (0)