DEV Community

Martin Beentjes
Martin Beentjes

Posted on

Maven or Gradle?

Currently, I am migrating from Java to Kotlin. One of the changes I am not making is to move from Maven to Gradle. This is something we should probably discuss company wide to do or not.

I am curious about your thoughts, which do you prefer: Maven or Gradle? What made you to move? Or did you switch back?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
abdelhadinaimi profile image
Abdelhadi Naimi

I would prefer Gradle over Maven anytime,the clear syntax is one of the big problems for me. Concerning the utility I still haven't dug too deep insight complex projects to really compare that aspect of things.

Collapse
 
devit951 profile image
Ildarov

If this project is an Android, then exactly Gradle.

Collapse
 
frothandjava profile image
Scot McSweeney-Roberts • Edited

On a personal project, anything but maven. On a company project, nothing but maven.