DEV Community

Marvin Danig
Marvin Danig

Posted on

Google Pixel 3 has a notch!

If you weren't paying attention, Google announced the Pixel 3 XL today, and it has a notch! Yep, that dreaded notch that some developers loathe, but the consumers seem to be okay with.

Today's announcement from Google means that as an industry we're headed towards non-rectangular viewports where one cannot assume that a CSS width declared @100% will be equal to 100% available width on the viewport, especially around the notch in landscape mode.

Thankfully, there's an easy standard fix for this issue as described on the following blog post. Quite interesting to note that Google announced CSS support for notched devices barely a month ago and followed it up with a notched phone themselves.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
rupankarghosh profile image
RupankarGhosh

And the notch looks horrible on pixel 3 🤷‍♂️

Collapse
 
marvindanig profile image
Marvin Danig • Edited

Does it? I haven't had a chance to hold a Pixel 3 in my hands yet. But I do like the iPhones with a notch—meaning I don't mind the notch as much as the popular opinion would like me to think.

Collapse
 
rupankarghosh profile image
RupankarGhosh

I used iPhone X with and believe me it doesn't feel it's there on the top while you use your phone everyday. It's just feel annoying while watching videos but otherwise I am cool with it and iOS 12 making apps that are more compatible with their notch.