DEV Community

boredandcode
boredandcode

Posted on

Best Resources for Learning Elixir

I'm putting a lot of time into Elixir. I would love anyone's tips, advice, tutorials, or guides they might recommend. Thanks!

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
ssolo112 profile image
Steven Solomon • Edited

I really recommend the little elixir and OTP guidebook. It will teach you the foundations of the language as well as OTP—genservers, supervisors. Additionally, it shows you a bit of Erlang tooling.

Collapse
Collapse
 
eli profile image
Eli Bierman

I second Elixir School as a great resource for the fundamentals of the language. The Little Elixir and OTP Guidebook also really helped me solidify my understanding of OTP and the power of the underlying Erlang VM.

I'm also currently building an open source website creation platform in Elixir (just announced the beta preview) and I'm planning on writing a bunch of hands-on articles on dev.to about building web services in Elixir.

Collapse
 
alkx profile image
Alekx • Edited

If you like screencasts there's elixircasts.io.

Collapse
 
jackmarchant profile image
Jack Marchant

I tend to write a lot about Elixir as I’m learning too! jackmarchant.com

Collapse
 
alchemistcamp profile image
Alchemist Camp

I've made a lot of screencasts to help people learn Elixir on Alchemist Camp and so far close to a hundred of them are free.

Collapse
 
basbloembergen profile image
Bas

pragprog.com/book/elixir16/program... is a great introduction to Elixir!

After you've gotten a taste there's a lot of other books on Elixir over at pragprog.com.

Collapse
 
naeospsy profile image
NaeosPsy

For anyone searching, I made a guide to the best currently available resources: serokell.io/blog/learn-elixir

Collapse
 
theremix profile image
theRemix

Search for a nearby elixir meetup, and connect with some friendly people. They may help guide you on your path to learning elixir.

Collapse
 
jamessmith23 profile image
JamesSmith23

Reviews of Elixir Courses:

reactdom.com/elixir

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee
Collapse
 
gargakshit profile image
Akshit Garg