DEV Community

Matt Edwards
Matt Edwards

Posted on

Manchester Codes - Software Engineer FastTrack

Should I sign up?

The Software Engineer FastTrack is described as a 24-week immersive part-time bootcamp. More about it here https://www.manchestercodes.com/

It's a kind of bootcamp that you can attend while still working fulltime, which I do - in a totally unrelated field.

I'm really tempted. I have a fair amount of amateur experience in various aspects of software development amassed over a few years. I love programming - always have done - and would love to give it a try professionally. The course pretty much ticks the boxes for me.

So why the question at the top of the page?

I'm looking to completely change direction in my career.

"So what?", I hear you say. "Loads of people have successfully done that!"

Thing is, I'm 54 years old. I will be 55 a few days after the course finishes next year.

So, my question to you ... the Dev Community ... is, will I be taken seriously?

Is it possible for somebody of my age to make the switch?
Do you know anybody who has?
How would you react to a junior developer who's old enough to be your dad?

In the brief time that I have been a part of this community I have learned that it is a supportive and welcoming one. If that weren't the case then I don't think I would even be contemplating this. But all things have their limits.

I'm really excited to press the enrol button!

At the same time I'm shitting my pants!

What should I do?

Thanks

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

Hi Matt, I am in the same situation you describe in this post. Looks like you didn't get much of a response. I've signed up for an iOS Dev class online and I would love this to turn into a new career. Am I bonkers for thinking it could?How's it going for you? How's the journey been?

Collapse
 
mattedwards profile image
Matt Edwards

Hey Monty. Thanks for your interest!
I did sign up for the course and I was lucky enough to get a job very soon after graduating. I’ve been a software engineer for almost 2 years now 😁

So I’m living proof that it IS possible to switch careers into software engineering quite late in life.

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

That's great to hear! Congratulations! Any quick words of wisdom?