DEV Community

Matt Upham
Matt Upham

Posted on

A REAL day in the life: software engineer

What do software engineers do? (Day to day on the job)

With all of the unrealistic "day in the life of a software engineer" videos popping up on YouTube (the ones where they're always playing ping pong, eating free food, and apparently doing little to no work), what do software engineers actually do on a daily basis?

I've worked in both big and small companies in Silicon Valley as a software engineer / web dev. I made a video breaking down my exact day to day, based on similarities I've seen in the different roles I've worked in.

Please consider subscribing by clicking here if you found this information useful!
YouTube - Matt Upham

What do Software Engineers do?

Are you currently learning to code? If so, what have been your biggest challenges? What are some of your misconceptions about being a software developer?

Are you a current software developer? What specialty are you in, and what does your day to day look like?

If you found this video useful, please consider subscribing to my YouTube Channel! I talk about software & tech, life in Silicon Valley, and self-improvement!

Subscribe Here
YouTube - Matt Upham

Join our growing Discord community!

Thanks for reading!

Top comments (0)