DEV Community

Cover image for vuejs or react 2020
Mohamed Hanini
Mohamed Hanini

Posted on

vuejs or react 2020

Vuejs is better than React when smaller, flexible and faster applications are required. When there is a requirement for a lightweight, faster, and modern UI library for crafting a topnotch SPA (single-page application), one must use VueJs. This is beneficial for developers who are used to working with HTML.

Top comments (29)

Collapse
 
zarabotaet profile image
Dima

Small and fast - svelte.
All other - react.

I see no reason to choose vue.

Collapse
 
bobdotjs profile image
Bob Bass

...

Collapse
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

why you say that ??

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Have you performed any performance benchmark testing?

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

I can give the link of my project and you can see

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

How will I see?

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

Google chrome audit

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Could you send a GitHub link?

Did you build the project in Vue and React?

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

I have just in vuejs

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

So how do you know it's better than react?

If you've only built in Vue.

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

You are right can you read this
monterail.com/blog/vue-vs-react-2019

Collapse
 
bobdotjs profile image
Bob Bass

Mohamed, software developers are very tribal creatures. Try not to be bothered. When I was trying to decide which JavaScript framework to pick up (I came from .NET/C#) I built a currency converter in React and then Vue. When I compared the development experience, the answer was Vue hands down. I don't think that you're obligated to provide a reasoning when someone asks you which one you prefer. The purpose of JavaScript frameworks is to increase developer productivity. I am more productive in Vue and I am in React. I've tried both before picking one and I actually wanted to be more productive in React because it was the 'cooler option'.

Simply stated, if you have MVC experience - Vue will feel more natural. If you have more experience with functional programming, React might be more your speed. If you prefer TS over JS, maybe you're better off with React until Vue 3 is a bit more mature. If you like JSX, use React. If you don't want to learn new syntax and just want to push how to prototype quickly, try Vue. I wouldn't say that one is better than the other unless you're referring to a very specific use case.

I personally prefer Vue although I would build a project in React for work, Vue is my go-to at the moment.

Vue also just surpassed react with stars on GitHub.

Collapse
 
bobdotjs profile image
Bob Bass

... see stars

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Why no reason?

Collapse
 
zarabotaet profile image
Dima

What are the advantages over the React?

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

flexible and faster

Thread Thread
 
metruzanca profile image
Samuele Zanca

Why is it more flexible?

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

yes it's more flexible

Thread Thread
 
metruzanca profile image
Samuele Zanca

I asked "why is it more flexible?" not "is it more flexible?"
As in, please give me more information to why you think its more flexible so that I may better my understanding of it as a framework.

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

you can search about into the net for me i have create my fisrt front web site with #nuxtjs that based on #vuejs and One of the biggest selling points of #Nuxt.js is that it can help your application with Search Engine Optimization (#SEO) and to rank better on #Google

Thread Thread
 
metruzanca profile image
Samuele Zanca

Nuxtjs sounds like nextjs which is for server side rendering which is better for seo and site rank aswell. Tho if nuxt is client side rendering and instead realize on maybe a different way of bundling or building, that may in fact be better. (I don't know how vue works, don't quote me)

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

yes nuxtjs use SSR and build .html pages as you google prefer html

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Is this a finding after a benchmark test for optimisation?

Collapse
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini

yes of course i noticed this after my first project using nuxtjs which is based on vuejs

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

What did you notice? What tools did you use to monitor the performance?

Thread Thread
 
medhanini profile image
Mohamed Hanini • Edited

the performance not yet get the great score

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

I don't understand your reply.

What did you notice?

What tools did you use to monitor the performance?

Collapse
 
metruzanca profile image
Samuele Zanca

The thing about vuejs is currently the job market is in favour of react. Vue could be 10x better than react, but if react is still being used by the vast majority of companies, react will always be the better choice. If you're doing freelance, then thats another story.

Both are good frameworks.

Collapse
 
alam487 profile image
Alam487

Hi sir. I am trying to built a multistep form wizard in vue.js using Django where I have two flows one is personal user and other one is business user. So in personal user I have to prompt a form based on category selection. Like when we enter a category in html input field based on that category I have to show next form. Suppose if I enter a "IT" in category field then based on IT i have prompt next form related with IT fields.
So here first flow I have completed like displaying the form based on category selection. And the main problem is with business user here while we enter a category "IT" in business flow so at that time by default we are having next form with two radio buttons one is personal user radio button and other is business user so if we click on business user radio button then user are able to update his account from personal to business using registration form.
But while we click on personal radio button then I need to follow the same process of entering category and showing the next form based on this category enter by user but i was unable to achieve this. So here i have stuck and need help