DEV Community

Leon Nunes
Leon Nunes

Posted on

Why aren't there any guides for new system administrators?

I see a lot of posts for developers, but not so many for people who want to get into System Administration, I was thinking maybe I could start if there aren't that many.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
decentralizuj profile image
decentralizuj

This book is for system administration with ruby. Show many examples, greatly explained. Even if you don't know ruby at all, you should take a look at it, because it cover all basics of ruby to get you started.

Practical Ruby for System Administration - PDF

Collapse
 
mediocredevops profile image
Leon Nunes

Hey thank you, I'll check it out.

I actually wanted to focus on more on the learning through blog types, I see a lot of them for Developers, and it just seems that its all geared towards programming. I don't know if that makes sense.

Collapse
 
darkain profile image
Vincent Milum Jr

While not the typical "blog" format, check out the FreeBSD Handbook. It covers countless sysadmin topics!

docs.freebsd.org/en_US.ISO8859-1/b...

Collapse
 
mediocredevops profile image
Leon Nunes

Hi there, thank you for this, let me check this out, I've been meaning to get into FreeBSD.
However, I was thinking of getting together to create blogs etc that would focus on an entire walkthrough, I see a lot of these for developers and I get that it has a bigger market, but something for admins wouldn't be bad right?

Collapse
 
darkain profile image
Vincent Milum Jr

That would be really awesome to do! Different perspectives are always great, which blogging brings out. We each have different problem domains we're working within and trying to solve, so it'll be nice to get that extra exposure to show how you've overcome different obstacles for what you're trying to accomplish :)

Thread Thread
 
mediocredevops profile image
Leon Nunes

I'll get started then! I've never done such a thing before! lets see how it goes