DEV Community

Cover image for 5 CV don'ts for software engineers
Ahmed Said-ahmed
Ahmed Said-ahmed

Posted on

5 CV don'ts for software engineers

In this video, you will be introduced to some bad practices that many software engineers do when they are writing or designing their CV.

Notice that many of this practices could be needed or critical for other job positions. However, it's not favorable for software engineers.

Check out previous bash tutorials:

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
thorstenhirsch profile image
Thorsten Hirsch

Can't you just write them down, so that we don't have to watch a 5min video?

Collapse
 
medsaad profile image
Ahmed Said-ahmed • Edited

I just needed to explain why each point is not preferable. If I just listed them without explanation, some may argue that they could be important.

Collapse
 
brianreeve profile image
Brian Christopher Reeve • Edited

You can use a transcription service like Speechpad (speechpad.com) to transcribe your videos for like $1 per minute, then easily paste that as your blog.

Maybe that would be helpful for cases like this where you want to record your ideas, but your audience would also find value in a written post.

Collapse
 
andreidascalu profile image
Andrei Dascalu

Great points but would be better written (or podcast). Speaking of vizualizations that don't add value.

Collapse
 
medsaad profile image
Ahmed Said-ahmed

A podcast would be a good idea. I'll try that next time I create this type of content.

Collapse
 
sadra profile image
Sadra Isapanah Amlashi

I'm afraid I disagree with the first part of the SUMMARY.
Recruiters and maybe the team's members remember the candidates based on their summary somehow. We mark our developers based on important parts of their summary like "The guy how were is expertise in infrastructure.".

Collapse
 
yoursunny profile image
Junxiao Shi

My CV is written in LaTeX. I cannot possibly have colors, visualizations, stars, emojis, etc.

Collapse
 
nicolasomar profile image
Nicolás Omar González Passerino

I thought the same when a friend told me about LaTeX, but you can make some great templates from Overleaf

Collapse
 
ttpro1995 profile image
Thai Thien

I suggest you write instead of put a video. I read on the phone and I don't want to pair my bluetooth headphone right now.