DEV Community

Vesa Piittinen
Vesa Piittinen

Posted on

A link to my blog

https://vesa.piittinen.name/blog

I'm back to doing stuff the traditional way. I have RSS feed.

You can also find me @MerriNet@mastodon.social

If you need a reason: commercial social media sites fail to be nice places to spend your time on.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

Sad that even DEV didn't serve you better, but you're right: developers should own their content without getting distracted by deceptive patterns! Personally, I still see DEV closer to Mastodon / fediverse than the real commercial (anti-)social sites, but I totally get your point.

+1 for reminding us of #indieweb

The IndieWeb is a people-focused alternative to the "corporate web".
Your articles and status messages can go to all services, not just one, allowing you to engage with everyone.

Source: indieweb.org

Collapse
 
merri profile image
Vesa Piittinen

DEV as such isn't that bad, but it does have it's downsides being a centralized platform.

One of the reasons I did join DEV was that it was easier than handling a blog at that time. I used to have WordPress sites but they were never fun to work with and were lots of hassle to maintain, especially if you aren't a dedicated WordPress expert.

Thus the two things DEV would provide for me were ease of just writing something, plus an audience. But I noticed something has changed and these days I barely get any readers here. So that just left the convenience, but even that is now gone thanks to Astro and Vercel being so easy to work with.