DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

What was your win this week?

Hey folks! πŸ‘‹

Hope y'all all enjoy your weekends.

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Getting some new shoes πŸ‘Ÿ

Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz clicking her heels in the red ruby slippers.

Top comments (40)

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I went from having 50 readers a month to 800.
Feels nice to be blogging again!

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Congratulations @vulcanwm!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

thanks!

Collapse
 
devkiran profile image
Kiran Krishnan
  • Crossed 30k views on my blog here on dev.to
  • Our team launched a new product on Product Hunt - Retraced
  • Started a new Open Source project - NextAPI
Collapse
 
codeandclay profile image
Oliver

I'm learning Rails again. I want to switch careers and become a Rails developer though I know I've a long way to go.

Worked my way through this fantastic tutorial on turbo streams then spent this afternoon building a toy app. It's an up hill struggle but I'm feeling more confident, little by little.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! That's awesome, Oliver. πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
ashobiz profile image
Ashok

I am usually very anxious during interview. This is the very first time, I enjoyed the whole interview process and never felt anxious even when I didn't answer few questions correctly. It was a big win for me.

Collapse
 
alecbsherman profile image
Alec

This week my "PHP CSS Editor Maker" was nominated for the
PHP Programming Innovation Award in the
PHP Classes site during the month of January!

Check it out at:
phpclasses.org/package/12307-PHP-V...

and if you like it, give me your vote at:
phpclasses.org/vote.html

Collapse
 
cleveroscar profile image
Oscar Ortiz

I finished up my Pagination guide and I’m happy to say that I don’t think I’ll be forgetting how to build it for future projects! That’s the best part about sharing.

dev.to/cleveroscar/pagination-reac...

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Got some new article this week! woohooo!
dev.to/highcenburg/getting-the-tem...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww yayeah! Good to see a fresh post from ya, Vicente! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

More coming! πŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
lotfijb profile image
Lotfi Jebali

Started learning Node Js and reached 100 followers here <3

Collapse
 
jcsmileyjr profile image
JC Smiley

At a recent virtual tech meetup that focus on presenting a personal project to others I was able to demo 5 small projects built over the last few weeks to practice React, building with pure Vanilla JavaScript, and learn TypeScript.
series of small projects:
β–ͺ Pomodoro Clock (Converted React to TypeScript)
β–ͺ Tip Calculator (React)
β–ͺ Product Creation UI (TypeScript)
β–ͺ Episode Listing (React and Vanilla JS)
β–ͺ Range Slider (React and Vanilla JS)

One additional project was shown off to help explain to others how "Higher Order Components" work with state management in React.
β–ͺ Fantasy Football (React)

I really loved the feedback and the follow up discussion on different types of database you can use with personal projects.

Collapse
 
alexr profile image
Alex (The Engineering Bolt) ⚑

I am keeping up with my writing a post a week dev.to/alexr/managing-high-perform...

Also I keep growing my Twitter followers through regular engagement with my community twitter.com/alexrashkov

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Rock on! A post per week is a really great goal to have.

I just took a peek at your series on management here and it looks like you have some really awesome entries going. Nicely done! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
mollyyy46 profile image
Molly Grant

I'm a front-end developer for half a year now and now I managed to find a decent job. I carefully searched for vacancies and a couple of days ago I was hired here ibench.net/. Cool platform by the way, I didn’t know about it before

Collapse
 
denzyldick profile image
Denzyl Dick • Edited

Last Friday I made the decision to write a static analyzer for PHP in Rust, so I can better understand Rust. I can happily say I'm starting to like how helpful the compiler is.

Github link to project.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Very cool! That sounds like a good way to dig into the language. And of course, here's my obligatory: you should consider writing about this on DEV! Haha, I don't mean to push ya into it, but that does like a pretty cool topic and I bet we'd be down to share your post over our Rust focused Twitter account here. If ya do end up writing on it, please shoot me a message back here so I'll know to tap our social team.

Collapse
 
terrydiana profile image
Terry-Diana

I've been waking up extra early to study Data structures and algorithms before I can start work. I've am proud of myself ☺️

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

You should be! I wish could build up that kinda motivation... late sleeper here, haha. Anywho, I hope DEV has been a good resource for ya and best wishes in continuing your studies!

Collapse
 
terrydiana profile image
Terry-Diana

Thank you. I do learn a lot from DEV that makes me become a better developer

Collapse
 
alexiscesar profile image
Alexis Cesar

Started to get more organized with my studies and habits using Notion (:

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice!! I love Notion. By the way, check out the desktop app if you haven't already... that's always been my go-to versus using the web app.

Collapse
 
dgjunglep profile image
Jungle • Edited

I'm upgrading my Web project Kits to v0.0.3 with Svelte. js, TailwindCSS and SpringBoot.
And I decided to learn more about vert. x and RxJava.